KET Detects the Best Mystery Plays

Gary Sandy (WKRP in Cincinnati) hosts as the inaugural Angie Awards are given to the best new mystery plays of 2007 in Whodunit/Whowonit—The International Mystery Festival Awards 2007.

The Angies—named for Murder, She Wrote actress Angela Lansbury—were presented on June 17 at Owensboro’s RiverPark Center as the culmination of its first International Mystery Writers’ Festival celebrating new mystery-themed plays. Awards were given in 13 different categories and based on voting by festival audiences. The gala awards party was created by Jeff Lee, the associate director for Disney’s Broadway hits The Lion King and Tarzan.

Winners include Kentuckian Elizabeth Orndorff’s Death by Darkness for best new work; Orndorff for best new playwright; Albatross, by Lance Rucker and Tim Perrin, for best screenplay; John Frazier for best actor for his role in Death by Darkness; and Barb Wengard for best actress for her role in Panic.

Participants in the gala include Sandy, who starred in one of the festival plays; Harry Anderson (Night Court), and Kentucky author Sue Grafton (the Kinsey Milhone mystery series).

Gov. Ernie Fletcher presented Lansbury with an award naming her the First Lady of Mystery. Lansbury, who is currently starring on Broadway and was unable to attend the event, addressed the crowd via satellite.

Whodunit/Whowonit—The International Mystery Festival Awards 2007 is a KET production, produced by Guy Mendes.