Skip Navigation


Great Balls of Fire!

  • KSU repeats as NAIA champ.

  • KSU makes it three straight NAIA championships, and Kentucky Wesleyan claims another NCAA Division II title.

  • Lindsey Wilson College wins the NLCAA championship.

  • First-year U of L coach Denny Crum takes his team to the Final Four, but loses to his former school, UCLA, which goes on to win the sixth of what would be 10 straight championships under legendary coach John Wooden.

  • Adolph Rupp retires from UK as the winningest coach in NCAA history (a record since eclipsed by North Carolina’s Dean Smith).

  • The Kentucky Colonels post a record of 68-16 for the season, the best record ever compiled by an ABA team.

  • Kentucky Wesleyan wins its fourth NCAA Division II title.

  • Girls’ high school state tournament reinstated after a 43-year absence due to the KHSAA withdrawal of its sponsorship after the 1932 championship game.

  • Louisville Male wins its fourth state championship since WWII, a record at the time.

  • U of L comes within a point of meeting UK in the NCAA championship game. The Cardinals lose in overtime to UCLA, which goes on to defeat UK for the title.

  • The Kentucky Colonels win the ABA championship.

  • Donna Murphy of Newport is selected as Kentucky’s first Miss Basketball.

  • UK wins NCAA championship, beating Duke 94-88.

  • U of L wins the NCAA tournament for the first time.

  • Sullivan Business College wins its fourth NLCAA championship.

  • UK’s women’s team wins its first (and so far only) SEC championship.

  • Henry Clay wins its sixth state championship, the most for any school.

  • After a few near misses in previous years, the “Dream Game” finally comes off when UK and U of L meet in a regional final of the NCAA tournament. Regulation ends with a 62-62 tie, and U of L goes on to win 80-68.

  • U of L wins its second NCAA title behind the play of freshman Pervis Ellison, the first freshman since 1944 to be named the Most Outstanding Player of the Final Four.

  • Kentucky Wesleyan wins another NCAA Division II title.

  • Lisa Harrison of Louisville Southern is named Player of the Year by USA Today, Naismith, Converse, Gatorade, and Parade magazine.

  • Bernadette Locke (Mattox) becomes the first female coach of a Division I men’s basketball team when she joins Rick Pitino’s staff at UK.

  • Kentucky Wesleyan captures yet another NCAA Division II title.

  • UK makes the second greatest comeback in NCAA history when it erases a 31-point second-half deficit to beat LSU 99-95 in a regular-season game.

  • UK’s “Untouchables,” under coach Rick Pitino, win the NCAA championship.

  • Jaime Walz of Highlands wins the Miss Basketball title and is named the Gatorade National Player of the Year. She would finish her career with 4,948 points, eclipsing Kelly Coleman’s boys’ scoring title by more than 600 points.

  • Paintsville’s J.R. VanHoose turns in what is considered one of the most dominant performances in state tournament history when, in a semifinal game, he scores 29 points and outrebounds the entire Lexington Catholic team. Painstville would go on to win the championship.

  • Millersburg Military Academy beats St. Patrick 115-112 in a game that takes nine overtimes to settle—a state record.

  • UK wins its seventh NCAA championship, making Tubby Smith only the second coach to win the national title in his first season.

  • Georgetown College wins the NAIA championship.

  • Kentucky Wesleyan wins the NCAA Division II championship.

  • Northern Kentucky University wins the NCAA Division II Women’s championship in overtime.

  • Kentucky Wesleyan captures its eighth NCAA Division II title.

KET Home Home KET Home

600 Cooper Drive, Lexington, KY 40502 (859) 258-7000 (800) 432-0951