Skip Navigation

 

Comment on Kentucky
Host of Comment on Kentucky
Your host, TBA
About the Series
Next Time
Past Shows
Guests

Public Affairs
All KET Programs
KET Home Page

KET

2001 - KET Series


Program 2710
Journalists from around the state discuss news of the day with host Al Smith. (1/5/01) (#2710)
Online Video Available
Friday, January 5, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, January 7, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2711
Journalists from around the state discuss news of the day with host Al Smith. (1/12/01) (#2711)
Online Video Available
Friday, January 12, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, January 14, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2712
Journalists from around the state discuss news of the day with host Al Smith. (1/19/01) (#2712)
Online Video Available
Friday, January 19, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, January 21, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2713
Journalists from around the state discuss news of the day with host Al Smith. (1/26/01) (#2713)
Online Video Available
Friday, January 26, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, January 28, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2714
Journalists from around the state discuss news of the day with host Al Smith. (2/2/01) (#2714)
Online Video Available
Friday, February 2, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, February 4, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2715
Journalists from around the state discuss news of the day with host Al Smith. (2/9/01) (#2715)
Online Video Available
Friday, February 9, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, February 11, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2716
Journalists from around the state discuss news of the day with host Al Smith. (2/16/01) (#2716)
Online Video Available
Friday, February 16, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, February 18, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2717
2/23/01: The race for the U.S. Senate and the progress of the first annual session of the Kentucky legislature in more than 150 years. Guest host: Mark Hebert. (#2717)
Online Video Available
Friday, February 23, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, February 25, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2718
3/2/01: With only one week left, no major bill has yet passed the 2001 Kentucky General Assembly. But there were signs at week’s end that Republicans and Democrats may reach an accord on several important proposals. (#2718)
Online Video Available
Friday, March 2, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, March 4, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2719
3/9/01: Political happenings in Frankfort, including disagreements on high-profile bills between Senate Republicans and the governor. (#2719)
Online Video Available
Friday, March 9, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Friday, March 9, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET2
See all airdates

Program 2720
3/16/01: Journalists from the two largest newspapers in the state discuss former Gov. Wallace Wilkinson’s bankruptcy debts, Louisville’s possible basketball deals, and the U.S. Senate’s action to toughen the federal bankruptcy laws. (#2720)
Online Video Available
Friday, March 16, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Friday, March 16, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET2
Sunday, March 18, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2721
3/23/01: The 2000 U.S. Census—our numbers grew as four million Kentuckians were counted. But one job in higher education got a bigger headline—Rick Pitino’s return to Kentucky. Meanwhile, in Washington, it was the war of the big Macs—McConnell versus McCain—over campaign financing. And in Frankfort, the legislature closed down amid a new outbreak of partisan bickering. (#2721)
Online Video Available
Friday, March 23, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, March 25, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2722
3/30/01: Gov. Paul Patton’s visits to several illegal dump sites in the state, his possible run for the U.S. Senate, and his action on collective bargaining; the NBA’s rejection of Louisville; U.S. Sen. Mitch McConnell’s defeat on campaign finance reform legislation; and former Gov. Wallace Wilkinson’s bankruptcy woes. Guest host: Mark Hebert. (#2722)
Online Video Available
Friday, March 30, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, April 1, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2723
4/6/01: The latest developments in former Gov. Wallace Wilkinson’s bankruptcy ordeal, political happenings at the state capitol, the financial records audit of Kentucky State University, insurance scams perpetrated on dying patients, and two state legislators’ scheduled attendance at a meeting hosted by the Kentucky State Militia. (#2723)
Online Video Available
Friday, April 6, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, April 8, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2724
4/13/01: A special Easter-week conversation about the Christian legacy in the Commonwealth with a panel of theologians. (#2724)
Online Video Available
Friday, April 13, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, April 15, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2725
4/20/01: Tom Loftus talks about U.S. Labor Secretary Elaine Chao’s position on the program to compensate nuclear workers for job-related illnesses and about Lt. Gov. Steve Henry’s disclosure of the amount of gifts he and his wife received at their wedding last year. Monica Richardson discusses state officials’ criticism of the welfare-to-work program, the effects of recent job layoffs, and the status of the KCHIP program that provides health insurance to thousands of Kentucky children. Dave Nakdimen comments on the racial unrest in Cincinnati and the Derby week protest planned in Louisville. (#2725)
Friday, April 20, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, April 22, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2726
4/27/01: Concerns over rising electricity costs, consolidation and deregulation of the energy industry, and the comeback of the coal industry with help from the Bush administration and the courts. (#2726)
Online Video Available
Friday, April 27, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, April 29, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2727
5/4/01: Women and politics; the final weeks of University of Kentucky President Charles Wethington’s administration; President George W. Bush’s energy policy, which could mean happy days again for coal; the 2001 Kentucky Derby; and a tribute to the life of Kentucky writer and poet James Still. (#2727)
Online Video Available
Friday, May 4, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, May 6, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2728
5/11/01: A one-on-one conversation with retiring University of Kentucky President Charles Wethington about a decade of debate, change, and progress at Kentucky’s flagship university. (#2728)
Online Video Available
Friday, May 11, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, May 13, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2729
5/18/01: The foal crisis, Bush and coal, a tobacco buyout plan, the Comair strike, races for Congress, and state ideas about collective bargaining and smart growth. (#2729)
Online Video Available
Friday, May 18, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, May 20, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2730
5/25/01: Sen. Mitch McConnell’s bump from power as the Bush tax cut reaches the dock and what the U.S. Census numbers say about Kentucky. (#2730)
Online Video Available
Friday, May 25, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, May 27, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2731
6/1/01: In Louisville, Sen. Mitch McConnell takes a poll to the Courier-Journal. In Washington, Bush takes a load of coal to Congress. And across Kentucky, the local papers take up the news of another summer. (#2731)
Online Video Available
Friday, June 1, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, June 3, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2732
6/8/01: A University of Kentucky professor gives her perspective on the disease known as AIDS, a Frankfort reporter offers information on changes in school standards, and a Lexington business editor reports on the Wallace Wilkinson bankruptcy ordeal. (#2732)
Online Video Available
Friday, June 8, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, June 10, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2733
6/15/01: The state and the fate of the horse industry in Kentucky, the impact of foal losses, concerns for the future, and how to save the signature business of the Bluegrass. Guests include equine expert John R. Gaines, who founded the Breeders’ Cup and sparked the creation of the Kentucky Horse Park, and Jim Squires, a journalist and author who left the editorship of the Chicago Tribune to start a small farm in Kentucky—where he bred a horse named Monarchos that won the Kentucky Derby. (#2733)
Online Video Available
Friday, June 15, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, June 17, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2734
6/22/01: The Rev. Nancy Jo Kemper discusses the Billy Graham Crusade in Louisville and court action concerning religious activities on public school property. Mark Niekirk, managing editor of the Kentucky Post, talks about pilots, payrolls, and possibly friendlier skies in light of recent Comair negotiations. And Jack Brammer, Frankfort bureau chief for the Lexington Herald-Leader, poses some answers to the questions of how many power plants is an overload and why Gov. Patton wants to know. (#2734)
Online Video Available
Friday, June 22, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, June 24, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2735
6/29/01: Changing presidents at the University of Kentucky, a president’s pay and a powerful political friend at the University of Louisville, and an editor who ponders—in print—the problems and policies of her own paper. (#2735)
Online Video Available
Friday, June 29, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, July 1, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2736
7/6/01: The first week on the job for new University of Kentucky President Lee Todd, the resignation of Eastern Kentucky University President Robert Kustra, redistricting in Louisville, the latest developments in former Gov. Wallace Wilkinson’s bankruptcy debacle, and a giant step for medical science at the University of Louisville and Jewish Hospital in Louisville. (#2736)
Online Video Available
Friday, July 6, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, July 8, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2737
7/13/01: Gov. Patton’s budget cuts and protecting education; how agribusiness and small farms can co-exist; and the new electric grid—coal by wire, but at what cost? Also, people in the news: U.S. Rep. Ernie Fletcher, Bob Babbage, retiring Eastern Kentucky University President Robert Kustra, and new University of Kentucky President Dr. Lee Todd. (#2737)
Online Video Available
Friday, July 13, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, July 15, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2738
Host Al Smith and guests discuss U.S. Senator Mitch McConnell’s support for a controversial airport and business park in southcentral Kentucky; leadership issues in Lexington, both at the schools and in the merged government; and teacher pay and teacher quality—issues that have challenged us for more than a century. (#2738)
Online Video Available
Friday, July 20, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, July 22, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2739
On this edition of Comment on Kentucky, host Al Smith and guests discuss Lois Combs Weinberg's fundraising campaign for the U.S. Senate race against republican incumbent Mitch McConnell, the one-thousand families on welfare that will be cut off this fall, and the growth in coal that maybe more of a hope than a reality. (#2739)
Online Video Available
Friday, July 27, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, July 29, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2740
These are some of the headlines topping the discussion on this edition of Comment on Kentucky: Bush nominates three for federal judgeships and two more as prosecutors. Heart surgeries' value to higher education. Research on the health of horses. And, the legacy of a religious revival two hundred years ago. (#2740)
Online Video Available
Friday, August 3, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, August 5, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2741
Join host Al Smith with journalists who cover state and national politics as they discuss the 250 candidates predicted for 26 seats on new Louisville council, the Lexington mayor's race that's shaping up along partisan lines, and the race for U.S. Senate. (#2741)
Online Video Available
Friday, August 10, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, August 12, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2742
8/17/01: Back to school: improved scores on one national test, the dark side of games colleges play, and the corruption in sports programs. (#2742)
Online Video Available
Friday, August 17, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, August 19, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2743
8/24/01: A tribute to the spirit and the heart of a courageous man who made medical history and a discussion of the politics of land stewardship: sprawl, tobacco, horses, mining, and taxes. (#2743)
Online Video Available
Friday, August 24, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, August 26, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2744
8/31/01: U of L President John Shumaker and UK President Lee Todd appear together on KET for the first time. (#2744)
Online Video Available
Friday, August 31, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, September 2, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2745
9/7/01: Back to school—where teacher quality drives home. Hard times knocking at the door—state services cut, but labor pleads for a higher wage. And a golden voice gone to another choir: Our games were never better than when Cawood called them. (#2745)
Online Video Available
Friday, September 7, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, September 9, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2746
9/14/01: Kentucky and the world beyond the waters ... reflections on the week of September 11, 2001. (#2746)
Online Video Available
Friday, September 14, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, September 16, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2747
9/21/01: Kentucky responds to the terrorist attacks—making adjustments to the new realities. (#2747)
Online Video Available
Friday, September 21, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, September 23, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2748
9/28/01: Flight and airport security, the horse racing industry, the prospects for professional basketball, and how to grow Kentucky cities. (#2748)
Online Video Available
Friday, September 28, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, September 30, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2749
10/5/01: Defending against terrorism—what can and should a state do? The politics of farm policy—what’s the best for land and people? And the politics of social policy—health care, energy, and ethics. (#2749)
Online Video Available
Friday, October 5, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, October 7, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2750
10/12/01: School budget reductions, anthrax scares in the state, and the simmering politics in Western Kentucky. Guest host: Mark Hebert. (#2750)
Friday, October 12, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, October 14, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2751
10/19/01: Where are we in the economic downturn? What can we hope for? What’s the sting, if any, in the Charlotte Hornets? And what can one state do to calm our nerves over terrorism? (#2751)
Online Video Available
Friday, October 19, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, October 21, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2752
10/26/01: University of Louisville biology professor Ronald Atlas discusses bioterror and bio benefits. Political reporter Al Cross gives an update on the leadership game in Frankfort. And Lexington Herald-Leader editorial writer Jamie Lucke talks about the arguments over the tobacco settlement money and the bailout of auction houses. (#2752)
Online Video Available
Friday, October 26, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, October 28, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2801
11/2/01: Patton’s week—more spending cuts, no funds for tobacco floors, a tougher seatbelt law, and evaluations of his environmental record. Also, the financial challenges to Kentucky arts groups. (#2801)
Online Video Available
Friday, November 2, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, November 4, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2802
11/9/01: Race and cities, governing in a recession, and a winter of economic discontent and change. Plus, when is a headline an outrage and when is it just hot air? (#2802)
Online Video Available
Friday, November 9, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, November 11, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2803
11/16/01: Running government by the rules: The trouble is, not everyone plays the game the same way. Plus, a look at Kentucky’s literary heritage: The Commonwealth’s poet laureate celebrates his friendship with five Kentucky authors. (#2803)
Online Video Available
Friday, November 16, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, November 18, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2804
11/23/01: A special edition on influential Kentucky women, past and present. (#2804)
Online Video Available
Friday, November 23, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, November 25, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2805
11/30/01: Might the NBA be shooting hoops in Louisville? A regional university king passes on, Kentucky Senate Democrats make a move to set the agenda, and the first artificial-heart transplant patient dies. Guest host: Mark Hebert. (#2805)
Online Video Available
Friday, November 30, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2806
12/7/01: Attacks on Pearl Harbor and the World Trade Center—a comparison. Patton’s no-projects budget: With basic services threatened, bricks and mortar are out. Also, what’s likely to happen to education spending and school reforms and a look at the community and technical college system. (#2806)
Online Video Available
Friday, December 7, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, December 9, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2807
12/14/01: 60 years of change after Pearl Harbor—reflections on the world we have lived in with Dr. Otis A. Singletary, historian and former president of the University of Kentucky. (#2807)
Online Video Available
Friday, December 14, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, December 16, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2808
12/21/01: A review of the year’s top stories in education, the state’s farm culture, and our response to war and recession. (#2808)
Online Video Available
Friday, December 21, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, December 23, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates

Program 2809
12/28/01: Predictions for the upcoming year in state politics and the economic climate in Kentucky and the nation. (#2809)
Friday, December 28, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Sunday, December 30, 2001 at 12:30/11:30 am CT on KET
See all airdates



600 Cooper Drive, Lexington, KY 40502 (859) 258-7000 (800) 432-0951