Skip Navigation

 

 

MON at 8:00/7:00 PM CT | R WED at 2:00/1:00 AM CT on KET     with host Bill Goodman

Kentucky Tonight is an Emmy Award-winning public affairs television program. Our weekly discussions focus on issues confronting Kentuckians.

2001 - Kentucky Tonight


2001 General Assembly
What issues should lawmakers consider during the 2001 legislative session? (#819)
Monday, January 8, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

The Death Penalty
Should the General Assembly abolish or limit capital punishment? (#820)
Monday, January 15, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Mandatory Garbage Collection
Should the General Assembly require mandatory garbage collection in all Kentucky counties? (#821)
Monday, January 22, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

State Tax Reform
Should the General Assembly enact comprehensive tax reform? (#822)
Monday, January 29, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Self-Defense Law
Should the General Assembly expand the circumstances in which deadly force may be used in self-defense? (#823)
Monday, February 5, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Bush Education Plan
Should Congress enact the president’s education reforms? (#824)
Monday, February 12, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Faith-Based Charities
Should the federal government fund social service programs run by religious organizations? (#825)
Monday, February 19, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Bush Tax Plan
Should Congress enact the president’s proposed tax cuts? (#826)
Online Video Available
Monday, February 26, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

2001 General Assembly
What issues are before the Kentucky legislature at the conclusion of this year’s regular session? (#827)
Monday, March 26, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

State Tax Reform
Should the General Assembly enact comprehensive tax reform? (#828)
Monday, April 2, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Human Cloning
What issues are raised by human cloning research? (#829)
Monday, April 9, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Biotech Foods
Should the federal government increase oversight of genetically modified foods? (#830)
Monday, April 16, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

U.S. Foreign Policy
What is the United States’ proper role in foreign affairs? (#831)
Monday, April 23, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Bush Tax Plan
Should Congress enact the president’s proposed tax cuts? (#832)
Monday, May 7, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

U.S. Trade Policy
Should the United States be part of a Free Trade Area of the Americas? (#833)
Monday, May 14, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Law Enforcement and Race
Are Kentuckians adequately addressing issues like racial profiling? (#834)
Monday, May 21, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Social Security
Should personal retirement accounts be part of a plan to strengthen Social Security? (#835)
Monday, May 28, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Energy Policy and Gasoline
Should Congress support the president’s energy plan? (#836)
Monday, June 4, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Energy Policy and Electricity
Should Congress support the president’s energy plan? (#837)
Monday, June 11, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

U.S. Defense Policy
Should the United States develop a missile defense system? (#838)
Monday, June 18, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Managed Health Care
Should patients have the right to sue their HMOs? (#839)
Monday, June 25, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Campaign Finance Reform
Should Congress amend the Federal Election Campaign Act? (#840)
Monday, July 2, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Fetal Protection
Should Congress pass the Unborn Victims of Violence Act? (#841)
Monday, July 9, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Land-Use Planning
Are Kentucky communities managing growth in ways that balance competing interests? (#842)
Monday, July 16, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

State Tax Reform
Should the General Assembly enact comprehensive tax reform? (#843)
Monday, July 23, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Sex Education
What is the best way to address the country's sexually related public health problems? (#844)
Monday, July 30, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

News Coverage and the Media
How should the media react to news events? (#845)
Monday, August 6, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

The Future of Farming
What direction should Kentucky take in planning agriculture policy? (#846)
Monday, August 13, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Faith-Based Charities
Should the federal government fund social service programs run by religious organizations? (#847)
Monday, August 20, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Embryonic Stem Cell Research
How should Congress respond to the president’s stem-cell decision? (#848)
Monday, August 27, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Education
What challenges face Kentucky public schools? (#901)
Monday, September 3, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Telemarketing
Should the General Assembly tighten restrictions on telemarketers? (#902)
Monday, September 10, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Attack on America
(#903)
Monday, September 17, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Kentucky Responds: Talking with Children
This is the first program in a series of special Kentucky Responds editions of Kentucky Tonight in the aftermath of September 11. (#904)
Online Video Available
Monday, October 1, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Kentucky Responds: Muslims and Arab Americans
This is the second program in a series of special Kentucky Responds editions of Kentucky Tonight in the aftermath of September 11. (#905)
Online Video Available
Monday, October 8, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Monday, October 8, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on www.ket.org
See all airdates

Kentucky Responds: Terrorism at Home
This is the third program in a series of special Kentucky Responds editions of Kentucky Tonight in the aftermath of September 11. (#906)
Online Video Available
Monday, October 15, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Monday, October 15, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on www.ket.org
See all airdates

Kentucky Responds: Coping Emotionally
This is the fourth program in a series of special Kentucky Responds editions of Kentucky Tonight in the aftermath of September 11. (#907)
Online Video Available
Monday, October 22, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
Monday, October 22, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on www.ket.org
See all airdates

War on Terrorism
(#908)
Online Video Available
Monday, October 29, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Death Penalty
Should the General Assembly abolish, limit, or expand capital punishment? (#909)
Online Video Available
Monday, November 5, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Land-Use Planning
What is the best way for Kentuckians to manage growth? (#910)
Online Video Available
Monday, November 12, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Garbage Collection
Should the General Assembly require mandatory garbage collection in all Kentucky counties? (#911)
Online Video Available
Monday, November 19, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Traffic Safety
Should the General Assembly pass seat belt and cell phone legislation? (#912)
Online Video Available
Monday, November 26, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

State Tax Reform
Should the General Assembly enact comprehensive tax reform? (#913)
Online Video Available
Monday, December 3, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Expanded Gambling
Should the General Assembly legalize additional forms of gambling in Kentucky? (#914)
Online Video Available
Monday, December 10, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates

Merchant Power
How should the General Assembly address the development of merchant power plants? (#915)
Online Video Available
Monday, December 17, 2001 at 8:00/7:00 pm CT on KET
See all airdates
RSS Feeds:

Audio feeds are in Mp3 format, approx. 26:30; 39-45 MB each.
Video feeds are in Mp4 format, approx. 26:30 each; 220-230 MB



600 Cooper Drive, Lexington, KY 40502 (859) 258-7000 (800) 432-0951