Skip Navigation


KET Election Coverage  

Election 2003: The Vote

2003 was a gubernatorial election year in Kentucky—and a historic one, as Kentuckians elected the state’s first Republican governor in 32 years. In addition, voters crossed party lines to elect a mix of Democrats and Republicans among the other constitutional offices: secretary of state, attorney general, commissioner of agriculture, state treasurer, and auditor of public accounts.

On November 4, KET’s Bill Goodman and Renee Shaw anchored a full evening of general election vote totals and analysis, featuring commentary by political observers John McGarvey and John David Dyche as well as reports from candidates’ headquarters and newsrooms around the state. Click on a title below to view that section of our election coverage. All of the videos require RealPlayer®; see our help page for information on downloading the software.

The KET-produced candidate forums in statewide races and additional programs on the gubernatorial race are also archived online.

Election 2003: The Vote (Part 1) (1 hour)
Includes the following interviews and reports:

  • Ellen Williams, chair of the Kentucky Republican Party, and Susan Westrom, chair of the Kentucky Democratic Party
  • Patrick Crowley, Kentucky Enquirer
  • Dena Potter, Appalachian News-Express
  • Bill Bryant, WKYT-TV/Lexington
  • former Gov. Louie B. Nunn, Kentucky’s last Republican governor
  • Amanda Gilmore, Ashland Independent
  • Gary Phelps, WSFC-AM/Somerset
  • Keith Lawrence, Owensboro Messenger-Inquirer
  • Dan Modlin, WKYU-FM/Bowling Green
  • Bill Bartleman, Paducah Sun, on Western Kentucky
  • victory speech by Jonathan Miller, state treasurer (D)
  • state Sen. Daniel Mongiardo (D-Hazard), Kentucky Democratic Party vice chair, and state Sen. Damon Thayer (R-Georgetown), Kentucky Republican Party vice chair

Election 2003: The Vote (Part 2) (2 hours)
Includes the following interviews and reports:

  • victory speech by Trey Grayson, secretary of state-elect (R)
  • victory speech by Greg Stumbo, attorney general-elect (D)
  • concession speech by Ben Chandler, Democratic candidate for governor
  • Mark Hebert, WHAS-TV/Louisville
  • victory speech by Stephen Pence, lieutenant governor-elect (R)
  • victory speech by Ernie Fletcher, governor-elect (R)
  • victory speech by Crit Luallen, state auditor-elect (D)
  • victory speech by Richie Farmer, commissioner of agriculture-elect (R)
  • Kentucky Senate President David Williams (R-Burkesville) and Speaker of the House Jody Richards (D-Bowling Green)
  • concession speech by Gatewood Galbraith, independent candidate for attorney general
  • Ellen Williams, chair of the Kentucky Republican Party, and Susan Westrom, chair of the Kentucky Democratic Party
  • Mark Hebert, WHAS-TV/Louisville
  • Bill Bartleman, Paducah Sun
  • Patrick Crowley, Kentucky Enquirer

Election 2003: The Vote (Part 3) (1 hour)
Includes the following reports:

  • Bill Bryant, WKYT-TV/Lexington, on possible candidates for Fletcher’s congressional seat
  • round-up of excerpts from victory speeches by Jonathan Miller, Trey Grayson, Greg Stumbo, Richie Farmer, Crit Luallen, Stephen Pence, and Ernie Fletcher
  • final comments from the panelists

KET’s 2003 election coverage was produced by Deidre Clark. Donna Moore was executive producer.

600 Cooper Drive, Lexington, KY 40502 (859) 258-7000 (800) 432-0951

  KET Election Coverage