Skip Navigation


KET Election Coverage  

Primary 2007 Candidate Forums

2007 was a gubernatorial election year in Kentucky, with contested primaries in both the Republican and Democratic parties. In addition, voters chose five other constitutional officers in November: secretary of state, attorney general, commissioner of agriculture, treasurer, and auditor of public accounts.

KET invited all candidates on the ballot in contested primary races for statewide offices to participate in live forums broadcast from our Lexington studio. Those forums are now archived online. Three forums were held for each gubernatorial primary: two each with candidates for governor and one each with their running mates.

Forum Archive
Click on a highlighted title to watch that forum.

Democrats for Governor I (4/16)
Democrats for Governor II (5/14)
Candidates (Forum I):
• Steven L. Beshear
• Gatewood Galbraith
• Stephen L. Henry
• Otis “Bullman” Hensley
• William Bruce Lunsford
• Jonathan Miller
• Jody Richards
The second forum did not include Miller,
who withdrew from the race on May 7.
Republicans for Governor I (4/9)
Republicans for Governor II (5/7)
• Ernie Fletcher (inc.)
• Billy Harper
• Anne Northup

Conversations with the Candidates: KET also produced a series of One to One interviews with the gubernatorial candidates hosted by Bill Goodman. Video Archive »

Lieutenant Governor
Democrats for Lieutenant Governor (4/30)
• John Y. Brown III (Richards)
• Irv Maze (Miller)
• Daniel Mongiardo (Beshear)
• Gregory Damron Stumbo (Lunsford)
• Renee T. True (Henry)
• Mark Wireman (Galbraith)
(Richard Robbins, Otis Hensley’s running mate, did not participate.)
Republicans for Lieutenant Governor (4/23)
• Jeff Hoover (Northup)
• Robbie Rudolph (Fletcher)
• Dick Wilson (Harper)

Commissioner of Agriculture
Democrats for Commissioner of Agriculture (4/12)
• David Neville
• David Lynn Williams
Republicans for Commissioner of Agriculture (4/12)
• Don Stosberg
(Incumbent Richie Farmer did not participate.)

Secretary of State
Democrats for Secretary of State (4/19)
• S. Bruce Hendrickson
• Dick Robinson
• MaDonna J. White
Republican incumbent C.M. “Trey” Grayson was unopposed.

State Treasurer
Democrats for State Treasurer (4/26)
• Patrick R. Dunmire
• L.J. “Todd” Hollenbach
• Mike Weaver
• Jack D. Wood
Republicans for State Treasurer (5/3)
• Lonnie Napier
• Brandon D. Smith
• Ken Upchurch
• Melinda L. Wheeler

Attorney General
Democrats for Attorney General (5/10)
• Robert V. Bullock
• Jack Conway
Republicans for Attorney General (5/17)
• Tim Coleman
• Philip C. Kimball
• Jon Larson
• Stan Lee

Auditor of Public Accounts
Incumbent Crit Luallen was unopposed.
Linda Greenwell was unopposed.

KET’s 2007 primary election coverage was produced by Deidre Clark and directed by Nick Helton. Mike Brower was executive producer.

600 Cooper Drive, Lexington, KY 40502 (859) 258-7000 (800) 432-0951

  KET Election Coverage