Skip Navigation


KET Election Coverage  

Primary 2008: The Candidates

In 2008, Kentuckians got the rare opportunity to vote in a presidential primary while one party’s candidate was still undecided. The primary ballot also featured a U.S. Senate race, including contested primaries in both the Republican and Democratic parties, and six U.S. House races, four of which included contested primaries.

KET invited all candidates whose names appeared on the ballot in contested U.S. House and Senate primaries to participate in a series of forums. The forums, moderated by Kentucky Tonight host Bill Goodman and featuring questions from journalists from around the state, are archived for online viewing. Click on a highlighted title in the list below to watch that video.

Primary Forums Archive

  • 4th District Republicans
    aired live April 21
    • Warren O. Stone
    Incumbent Geoff Davis and challenger G.E. Puckett did not participate.

  • 3rd District Republicans
    aired live April 28
    • Bob DeVore Jr.
    • Corley C. Everett
    • Anne M. Northup
    • Chris Thieneman

  • 2nd District Democrats
    aired live May 5
    • David E. Boswell
    • Reid Haire

  • 6th District Republicans
    aired live May 5
    • Jon Larson
    • Tony McCurdy

  • U.S. Senate Democrats
    aired live May 12
    • Michael Cassaro
    • Greg Fischer
    • Bruce Lunsford
    • James E. Rice
    • Kenneth Stepp
    • David L. Williams
    • David Wylie
    Notes: Andrew Horne withdrew from the Democratic race before the KET forum. Both incumbent Sen. Mitch McConnell and his Republican primary opponent, Daniel Essek, declined the invitation to participate in a forum.

KET’s 2008 election coverage is produced by Deidre Clark and directed by Nick Helton. Mike Brower is executive producer.

600 Cooper Drive, Lexington, KY 40502 (859) 258-7000 (800) 432-0951

  KET Election Coverage