Skip Navigation


Welcome to GED Test Info

How Are the Essays Scored?

Each essay is read by two trained readers, and their two scores are averaged. The essay readers follow a four-point rubric, or scoring guide. The GED Testing Service has identified four levels to describe the writing sample:

  1. Effective
  2. Adequate
  3. Marginal
  4. Inadequate

Notice that the rubric does not use words like "outstanding" or "excellent." Writing essays in a testing environment is stressful; candidates are not expected to produce perfect work.

Click here to see the essay scoring guide. You may wish to print this guide.