The Lonesome River Band

Traditional bluegrass with a rock ’n’ roll edge, a bluegrass heritage that’s second to none, and a new infusion of energy and enthusiasm: That’s the Lonesome River Band. With Sammy Shelor on banjo and vocals, Brandon Rickman on guitar and vocals, Jeff Parker on mandolin and vocals, Irl Hees on bass and vocals, and Mike Hartgrove on fiddle, the band’s crackling rhythm, dynamic material, and powerful harmonies have won it the attention of non-bluegrass and bluegrass artists alike. The album Carrying the Tradition (1991) was named Album of the Year by the International Bluegrass Music Association, launching the Lonesome River Band into the top ranks of bluegrass artists.

The LRB has gone on to release more than half a dozen albums, including Talkin’ to Myself (2000) and Window of Time (2002).

This artist appears in Jubilee #126: The Lonesome River Band.