Special Consensus

Led by banjo player and founder Greg Cahill, the Special Consensus plays original compositions as well as traditional bluegrass standards by Bill Monroe, Flatt and Scruggs, and others. In addition to 11 recordings and international tours, the band has musical theater experience, having toured for three seasons as four-fifths of the cast of Cotton Patch Gospel. In November 2003, the Special Consensus received a standing ovation after its first performance on the Grand Ole Opry at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium.

The band also includes Benton, KY native Josh Williams (mandolin and fiddle), who by age 12 won the Kentucky State Banjo Championship and national junior championships on guitar and dobro; Tim Dishman (bass), who has played with Scott Freeman and the Hammerheads and Midwest Wind; and Jamie Clifton (guitar), who was previously a member of the bluegrass gospel band New Tradition.

Special Consensus’ recordings include Route 10, Special Consensus 25th Anniversary, Our Little Town, and Strong Enough To Bend.