old woodcut image of the Kentucky River

A Teacher’s Guide to

Kentucky’s Story

A nine-part Kentucky history series for grades 4 and 5, produced by KET.

See our online ITV catalog  for upcoming broadcasts and additional information for teachers.

Produced by KET with funds provided by the Commonwealth of Kentucky and Kentucky Educational Television Foundation, Inc.

Funding for guide writing and printing provided in part by a grant from The Kentucky Humanities Council and The National Endowment for the Humanities.


Executive Producer:
Sandy Welch

Tom Ward

Associate Producer:
Lynn Cooper

James Sherburne
Guy Mendes
Mary Ann Taylor

Instructional Designers:
Peg Griffith
Lee Allen
Imelda Van Fleet, Ed.D.

Project Consultants:
James Klotter, Ph.D.

Publication Editor:
Kentucky Historical Society
Wesley Creel Curator University of Kentucky Museum of Anthropology

Duncan Hart
David Ray Robinson
Guy Mendes
Tom Ward

Video Tape Engineer/Editor:
James S. Walker

Video Engineers:
Johnny Anderson
Walter Houghton
Hank Batts

Gary Mosley

Phil Groshong
Chela Kaplan
Guy Mendes

Photographic Research:
Judy Offutt
Carol Crowe Carraco
Nancy Disher Baird
The Kentucky Historical Society
The University of Kentucky Museum of Anthropology


Guide Writers:
Carol Crowe Carraco, Ph.D. Professor of History Western Kentucky University
Nancy Disher Baird, M.A. Kentucky Library Western Kentucky University

Guide Editors:
Peg Griffith
Betty Webb Ringo

Teacher Reviewers:
Nela Marshall,Nicholasville Elementary, Jessamine County
Loretta Conyers, Nicholasville Elementary, Jessamine County
Viola Ricker, Mt. Sterling Elementary, Montgomery County
Freda Klotter, Gardenside Elementary, Fayette County

Jenny White

Carl Parlagrecofiorello

Layout Artists:
Jenny White
Mollie Yunker
Angela Lewis

Betty Samuels
Catherine Henschen

Costumes/Make Up/Props
Jo Motsinger

Set Design
Fred Rivers


Ms. Shirley Whittaker
Price Elementary
Jefferson County

Ms. Sue Hall
Loyall Elementary
Harlan County

Ms. Eddie Byrd
Russell Cave Elementary
Fayette County

Mr. Don Roxberry
Maxell Elementary
Fayette County

Ms. Phyllis Taylor
Boyle County Primary
Boyle County

Ms. Deborah Johnson
Perryville Elementary
Boyle County

Ms. Frankie Sasser
Corbin High School
Corbin Independent Schools

Ms. Ann Dahl
Woodfill Elementary
Ft. Thomas Independent Schools

Ms. Linda Hukle
Greybranch Elementary
Greenup County

Ms. Gloria Johnson
Price Elementary
Jefferson County

Ms. Geneva Austin
Greysbranch Elementary
Greenup County

Ms. Alice True
Western Hills High School
Franklin County

Ms. Mae D. Dixon
Elementary Supervisor/Social Studies/Science
Jefferson County Schools

Ms. Mary Stevens
Elementary Supervisor
Ballard County

Dr. Roland Haun
Ft. Knox Dependent Schools

Mr. Charles Meyer
McDonald Middle School
Ft. Knox Dependent Schools

Ms. Patricia Terry
Johnson Elementary
Ft. Thomas Independent

Mr. Marty Newell
Appalshop Films Whitesburg

Mr. Thomas Gatewood
Kentucky Historical Society

Ms. Helen Worthington
State Department of Education

Mr. Jack Clifford
Middlesboro Independent Schools

Mr. Robert Posgrove
Kentucky Heritage Commission

Ms. Nancy Disher Baird
Kentucky Library and Museum
Westen Kentucky University

Mr. Steve Charming
Professor of History
University of Kentucky

*Titles and organizations listed were those at the time of the original advisory committee formation in 1981.