Settlement Schools of Appalachia

Settlement Schools of Appalachia

In the late 19th century, college-educated young women of the Bluegrass, influenced by the progressive movement, established several community schools in isolated areas of Eastern Kentucky. This 1995 KET production looks at the early history, growth, and contemporary roles of these Appalachian community institutions.

Show all past Settlement Schools of Appalachia episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Settlement Schools of Appalachia

58:00 | #0 | First Aired: June 25, 1999

  • KETKY: Thursday, March 30 at 11:00 AM ET / Thursday, March 30 at 10:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, March 31 at 3:00 PM ET / Friday, March 31 at 2:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Tuesday, April 4 at 9:00 PM ET / Tuesday, April 4 at 8:00 PM CT

Products

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   KET Duplication Services
   (800) 945-9167
   600 Cooper Drive
   Lexington, KY 40502-2296
   shop@ket.org