Water Works: 150 Years of the Louisville Water Company

Water Works: 150 Years of the Louisville Water Company

A documentary history of the Louisville Water Co., chartered as a private company in 1854 but almost wholly owned by the city by the time regular water delivery began on October 22, 1860. In the early 1900s, the Louisville Water Co. pioneered techniques for clearing mud and sand from river water that served as a model for many other city systems. Today, the Louisville water system serves all of Jefferson County with almost 3,000 miles of pipeline.

Recent Episodes

Water Works: 150 Years of the Louisville Water Company | Thursday, February 2 at 4:30 PM ET / Thursday, February 2 at 3:30 PM CT

Show all past Water Works: 150 Years of the Louisville Water Company episodes.

Upcoming Schedule

Water Works: 150 Years of the Louisville Water Company

27:57 | #0 | First Aired: December 8, 2005

  • KETKY: Wednesday, May 10 at 1:30 AM ET / Wednesday, May 10 at 12:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: Wednesday, May 10 at 3:30 PM ET / Wednesday, May 10 at 2:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, May 12 at 11:30 AM ET / Friday, May 12 at 10:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, June 1 at 11:30 AM ET / Thursday, June 1 at 10:30 AM CT