KET »

Series Information

Details

A food/reality series featuring Chef Vivian Howard located in her home town, a place she swore she would never return - the Deep South.

TV Schedule

Sweet Corn & Expensive Tea #101 [TV-G]
Chef Vivian and her husband, Ben, leave New York to open a restaurant in her small North Carolina hometown. She revisits the Southern tradition of "putting up" corn and makes smoked corn relish.

  • KET Sunday, August 3 at 10:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, September 5 at 11:30 pm EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, September 10 at 7:30 pm EDT

Strawberry Stay at Home #102 [TV-G]
Vivian and Ben rebuild their restaurant against the backdrop of the Southern harbinger of spring, the strawberry. Chef Vivian develops a recipe for coconut cornbread strawberry shortcake with basil whipped cream.

  • KET Sunday, August 10 at 10:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, September 12 at 11:30 pm EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, September 17 at 7:30 pm EDT

Pimp My Grits #103 [TV-G]
The restaurant gears up for a practice service when the new equipment and new menu will be tested in real time - but nothing is going as planned.

  • KET Sunday, August 17 at 10:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, September 19 at 11:30 pm EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, September 24 at 7:30 pm EDT

Cracklin' Kitchen #104 [TV-G]
Vivian christens the restaurant's new "whole animal, no waste" program with two little pigs from Warren Brothers' farm. She demonstrates how to make sweet potatoes with cracklins.

  • KET Sunday, August 24 at 10:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, October 1 at 7:30 pm EDT

Tomatoes....You Say Heirloom, I Say Old Timey #105 [TV-G]
Mary Vaughn shows Vivian the old-timey way to can tomatoes. Vivian prepares for a Southern Foodways Alliance luncheon at the restaurant.

  • KET Sunday, August 31 at 10:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, October 8 at 7:30 pm EDT

The World Is Your Oyster #106 [TV-G]
Vivian goes to Cedar Island to explore the new culture of farm-raised oysters in the Southeast.

  • KET2 Wednesday, October 15 at 7:30 pm EDT

Muscadine Time #107 [TV-G]
Ben, Vivian, and the twins pick muscadine grapes at a small local vineyard while learning the history of this native grape. Vivian makes a pizza with mulled muscadines.

  • KET2 Wednesday, October 22 at 7:30 pm EDT

A Road Trip for Rice #108 [TV-G]
Vivian travels to Columbia, South Carolina, and learns about Carolina heirloom rice growing in fields on the Savannah River.

  • KET2 Wednesday, October 29, 2014 at 7:30 pm EST

A Peanut Pastime #109 [TV-G]
Vivian visits a peanut farm and prepares Pepsi glazed pork belly with country ham braised peanuts.

  • KET2 Wednesday, November 5, 2014 at 7:30 pm EST

Love Me Some Candied Yams! #110 [TV-G]
Vivian introduces viewers to Rob and Amy Hill, proprietors of one of the largest sweet potato farms in the country and two of the restaurant's best customers.

  • KET2 Wednesday, November 12, 2014 at 7:30 pm EST

Collard Green Queen #111 [TV-G]
Vivian spends the morning with her neighbors, the Mills brothers, participating in their 100-year-old all-male family tradition of making collard kraut.

  • KET2 Wednesday, November 19, 2014 at 7:30 pm EST

The Buttermilk Belt #112 [TV-G]
Vivian discusses buttermilk at Maple View Dairy and tries to shoot a Christmas card picture.

  • KET2 Wednesday, November 26, 2014 at 7:30 pm EST

Have Yourself Some Moonshine #113 [TV-G]
Vivian visits Broad Slab Distillery. AppleJack Moonshine cocktails are prepared and enjoyed.

  • KET2 Wednesday, December 3, 2014 at 7:30 pm EST
List all episodes

More Like This

Close this window