KET »

Series Information

Web site: www.appalshop.org

Details

TV Schedule

Kentucky Programming Life Stories #101 [TV-G]
The lives of two African-American women in eastern Kentucky: Mabel Parker Hardison Smith taught school for more than 35 years in the coalfields of eastern Kentucky. Evelyn Williams, coal miner's daughter and wife, domestic worker and mother of nine, battled to save her land from destruction by a large oil and gas firm.

  • KETKY Sunday, July 26 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, July 27 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, July 28 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, July 30 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 1 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming American Originals—Minnie Black's Gourd Band #102 [TV-G]
"Minnie Black's Gourd Band," a 90-year-old woman made art from the gourds she grew and performed in a senior citizens' band. "Catfish: Man of the Woods," a fifth generation herb doctor, living near Glenwood, WV.

  • KETKY Sunday, August 2 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, August 3 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, August 4 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 6 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 8 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Economy #104 [TV-G]
"Fast Food Women" is a film about women who are part of the nation's working poor. "Blue Grass/Black Market" shows the underground economy of marijuana cultivation.

  • KETKY Sunday, August 9 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, August 10 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, August 11 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 13 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 15 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Down-Home Artists #105 [TV-G]
"Homemade Tales: Songs and Sayings of Florida Slone" celebrates a unique woman. "Morgan Sexton: Bull Creek Banjo Player" has been awarded a National Heritage Fellowship for his voice and banjo.

  • KETKY Sunday, August 16 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, August 17 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, August 18 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 20 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 22 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Commitment #106 [TV-G]
"Hands On: A Year in an Eastern Kentucky Classroom" is a warm, funny look at education reform. "Belinda," is the portrait of an AIDS activist.

  • KETKY Sunday, August 23 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, August 24 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, August 25 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 27 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 29 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Old-Time Country Music #107 [TV-G]
"Sunny Side of Life" tells the story of the Carter Family Fold in Hiltons, VA.

  • KETKY Sunday, September 20 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Sunday, September 20 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, September 22 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, September 24 at 6:00 am EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming Labor #108 [TV-G]
"Justice in the Coalfields" is a behind-the-scenes look at the communities affected by the 1989 Pittston coal strike in southwest Virginia.

  • KETKY Sunday, September 27 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Sunday, September 27 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, September 29 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 1 at 6:00 am EDT
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: www.appalshop.org

More Like This

Close this window