KET »

Series Information

Web site: www.appalshop.org

Details

TV Schedule

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming The Ralph Stanley Story #202 [TV-G]
Explores Stanley's musical roots in the Clinch Mountains of Virginia, the early days of the Stanley Brothers, and Ralph's decision to continue on after the untimely death of brother Carter. Interviews with Stanley, former band members, and fellow musicians such as Patty Loveless and Dwight Yoakam are intercut with performance excerpts, including several with Larry Sparks and Ricky Skaggs at Skaggs' annual Hills of Home Bluegrass Festival.

  • KETKY Sunday, May 4 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, May 5 at 10:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, May 6 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, May 8 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 10 at 3:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Friday, May 16 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Wednesday, May 21 at 3:00 am EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming Shelter #203 [TV-G]
Traces the remarkable evolution of shelters for battered women and gives voice to five women seeking protection in a rural West Virginia shelter. Working with advice and guidance from the shelter's counselors and staff, the women struggle to find safety, freedom, and justice for themselves and their children. Two founders of the shelter movement discuss its history, and Tillie Black Bear from the Rosebud Reservation in South Dakota describes establishing the first shelter for women of color.

  • KETKY Sunday, May 11 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, May 13 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, May 15 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 17 at 3:00 pm EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming His Eye Is on the Sparrow/Girls' Hoops #204 [TV-G]
His Eye Is on the Sparrow profiles Ethel Caffie-Austin, a daughter of the coalfields and West Virginia's "First Lady of Gospel Music." Girls' Hoops explores the history of girls' high school basketball in Kentucky, including its first heyday in the 1920s; the subsequent 42-year ban on statewide competition; its rebirth in the 1970s; and its development into the fiercely competitive, popular sport it has become today.

  • KETKY Sunday, May 18 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, May 20 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, May 22 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 24 at 3:00 pm EDT
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: www.appalshop.org

More Like This

Close this window