KET »

Series Information

Web site: www.appalshop.org

Details

TV Schedule

Kentucky Programming Commitment #106 [TV-G]
"Hands On: A Year in an Eastern Kentucky Classroom" is a warm, funny look at education reform. "Belinda," is the portrait of an AIDS activist.

  • KETKY Tuesday, August 25 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 27 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 29 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Old-Time Country Music #107 [TV-G]
"Sunny Side of Life" tells the story of the Carter Family Fold in Hiltons, VA.

  • KETKY Sunday, September 20 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Sunday, September 20 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, September 22 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, September 24 at 6:00 am EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming Labor #108 [TV-G]
"Justice in the Coalfields" is a behind-the-scenes look at the communities affected by the 1989 Pittston coal strike in southwest Virginia.

  • KETKY Sunday, September 27 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Sunday, September 27 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, September 29 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 1 at 6:00 am EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming A Place in the Country #201 [TV-G]
Profiles of several small towns document the diversity of rural America, the complexity and depth of the challenges facing it, and the hard and effective work that rural community developers are doing to meet the challenges and provide opportunities. An Appalshop production hosted by Ray Suarez.

  • KETKY Sunday, October 4 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Sunday, October 4 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 6 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 8 at 6:00 am EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming The Ralph Stanley Story #202 [TV-G]
Explores Stanley's musical roots in the Clinch Mountains of Virginia, the early days of the Stanley Brothers, and Ralph's decision to continue on after the untimely death of brother Carter. Interviews with Stanley, former band members, and fellow musicians such as Patty Loveless and Dwight Yoakam are intercut with performance excerpts, including several with Larry Sparks and Ricky Skaggs at Skaggs' annual Hills of Home Bluegrass Festival.

  • KETKY Sunday, October 11 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Sunday, October 11 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, October 12 at 9:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 15 at 6:00 am EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming Shelter #203 [TV-G]
Traces the remarkable evolution of shelters for battered women and gives voice to five women seeking protection in a rural West Virginia shelter. Working with advice and guidance from the shelter's counselors and staff, the women struggle to find safety, freedom, and justice for themselves and their children. Two founders of the shelter movement discuss its history, and Tillie Black Bear from the Rosebud Reservation in South Dakota describes establishing the first shelter for women of color.

  • KETKY Sunday, October 18 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Sunday, October 18 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 20 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 22 at 6:00 am EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming His Eye Is on the Sparrow/Girls' Hoops #204 [TV-G]
His Eye Is on the Sparrow profiles Ethel Caffie-Austin, a daughter of the coalfields and West Virginia's "First Lady of Gospel Music." Girls' Hoops explores the history of girls' high school basketball in Kentucky, including its first heyday in the 1920s; the subsequent 42-year ban on statewide competition; its rebirth in the 1970s; and its development into the fiercely competitive, popular sport it has become today.

  • KETKY Sunday, October 25 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Sunday, October 25 at noon EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 27 at 8:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Thursday, October 29 at 6:00 am EST
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: www.appalshop.org

More Like This

Close this window