KET »

Series Information

Web site: www.appalshop.org

Details

TV Schedule

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming Hazel Dickens: It's Hard to Tell the Singer from the Song #207 [TV-G]
From the coalfields of West Virginia to the factories of Baltimore, Hazel Dickens has lived the songs she sings. A pioneering woman in bluegrass and country music, Hazel has influenced generations of songwriters and musicians. Her songs of hard work, hard times, and hardy souls also have bolstered working people at picket lines and union rallies throughout the land. Her powerful, piercing vocals power the soundtracks for Harlan County USA and Matewan.

  • KETKY Thursday, June 25 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 27 at 6:00 pm EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming Coal Bucket Outlaw/Applewise #208 [TV-G]
Built around a day in the life of a Kentucky coal truck driver, Coal Bucket Outlaw provides a direct look at where our energy comes from as well as the human and environmental price we pay for our heavy dependence on fossil fuels. Applewise profiles the Mullins family, third-generation apple growers, and their struggle to maintain and manage one of only two remaining family-run apple orchards in Wise County, VA.

  • KETKY Sunday, June 28 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, June 29 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, June 30 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, July 2 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, July 4 at 6:00 pm EDT

Closed CaptionedKentucky Programming Stranger with a Camera #209 [TV-G]
In 1967, Canadian filmmaker Hugh O'Connor visited the mountains of central Appalachia to document poverty. A local landlord who resented the presence of filmmakers on his property shot and killed O'Connor, in part because of his anger over the media images of Appalachia that had become icons in the nation's War on Poverty. Filmmaker Elizabeth Barret, a native of Appalachia, uses O'Connor's death as a lens to explore the complex relationship between those who make films to promote social change and the people whose lives are represented in such media productions.

  • KETKY Sunday, July 5 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, July 6 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, July 7 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, July 9 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, July 11 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Life Stories #101 [TV-G]
The lives of two African-American women in eastern Kentucky: Mabel Parker Hardison Smith taught school for more than 35 years in the coalfields of eastern Kentucky. Evelyn Williams, coal miner's daughter and wife, domestic worker and mother of nine, battled to save her land from destruction by a large oil and gas firm.

  • KETKY Sunday, July 26 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, July 27 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, July 28 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, July 30 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 1 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming American Originals—Minnie Black's Gourd Band #102 [TV-G]
"Minnie Black's Gourd Band," a 90-year-old woman made art from the gourds she grew and performed in a senior citizens' band. "Catfish: Man of the Woods," a fifth generation herb doctor, living near Glenwood, WV.

  • KETKY Sunday, August 2 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, August 3 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, August 4 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 6 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 8 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Economy #104 [TV-G]
"Fast Food Women" is a film about women who are part of the nation's working poor. "Blue Grass/Black Market" shows the underground economy of marijuana cultivation.

  • KETKY Sunday, August 9 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, August 10 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, August 11 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 13 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 15 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Down-Home Artists #105 [TV-G]
"Homemade Tales: Songs and Sayings of Florida Slone" celebrates a unique woman. "Morgan Sexton: Bull Creek Banjo Player" has been awarded a National Heritage Fellowship for his voice and banjo.

  • KETKY Sunday, August 16 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, August 17 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, August 18 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 20 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 22 at 6:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Commitment #106 [TV-G]
"Hands On: A Year in an Eastern Kentucky Classroom" is a warm, funny look at education reform. "Belinda," is the portrait of an AIDS activist.

  • KETKY Sunday, August 23 at noon EDT
  • KETKY Monday, August 24 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, August 25 at 8:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, August 27 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, August 29 at 6:00 pm EDT
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: www.appalshop.org

More Like This

Close this window