KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens

Details

Each episode introduces new documentaries and dramas made by independent thinkers: filmmakers who are taking creative risks, calling their own shots and finding untold stories in unexpected places.

TV Schedule

Closed Captioned All of Me: A Story of Love, Loss, and Last Resorts #1513 [TV-14]
Weight-loss surgery affects the health, friendship, and happiness of morbidly obese female friends.

  • KET2 Friday, December 12 at 3:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, December 14 at 1:30 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, December 14 at 3:00 am EST

Closed Captioned The Trials of Muhammad Ali #1516 [TV-PG]
This film covers Muhammad Ali's toughest bout: his battle to overturn the five-year prison sentence he received for refusing U.S. military service. It explores Ali's exile years when he was banned from boxing and found himself in the crosshairs of conflicts concerning race, religion, and wartime dissent.

  • KET2 Monday, December 22 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Saturday, December 27 at 3:30 am EST
  • KET Sunday, December 28 at 1:30 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, December 28 at 3:00 am EST

Don't Stop Believin': Everyman's Journey #1418 [TV-PG]
This film follows the real life rock 'n' roll fairy tale of Filipino Arnel Pineda, who was plucked from YouTube to become the front man for iconic American rock band Journey.

  • KET2 Monday, December 29 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET Thursday, January 1 at 3:30 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, January 4 at 3:00 am EST

Rich Hill #1606 [TV-14]
Three boys navigate the road between childhood and adolescence in a depressed Missouri town.

  • KET2 Monday, January 5 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, January 7 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, January 11 at 1:30 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, January 11 at 3:00 am EST

Evolution of a Criminal #1607 [TV-PG]
Filmmaker Darius Clark Monroe explores what led him to rob a bank as a teenager in Texas.

  • KET2 Monday, January 12 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, January 14 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, January 18 at 2:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, January 18 at 3:00 am EST

The Kill Team/Confusion Through Sand #1522 [TV-14]
A U.S. infantryman in Afghanistan attempts to expose war crimes committed by his platoon. Also, a short film tells the story of a teenage military recruit alone and scared in a hostile desert.

  • KET2 Monday, January 19 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, January 21 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, January 25 at 1:30 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, January 25 at 2:00 am EST

Through a Lens Darkly: Black Photographers and the Emergence of a People #1608 [TV-PG]
The story of the pioneering African-American photographers who have recorded the lives of generations, from slavery to the present, is told.

  • KET2 Monday, February 16 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, February 18 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, February 22 at 2:00 am EST

American Denial #1609 [TV-PG]
This film uses the story of Gunnar Myrdal's 1944 investigation of Jim Crow racism as a springboard to explore the power of unconscious biases and how the ideals of liberty, equality, and justice still affect notions of race and class today.

  • KET2 Monday, February 23 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, February 25 at 4:00 am EST
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens

Products

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   Some films from the series are available from other sources; see notes for specific episodes.
   Play PBS
   (800) PLAY-PBS (752-9727)
   1320 Braddock Place
   Alexandria, VA 22314

More Like This

Close this window