KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens

Details

Each episode introduces new documentaries and dramas made by independent thinkers: filmmakers who are taking creative risks, calling their own shots and finding untold stories in unexpected places.

TV Schedule

The Great Invisible #1613 [TV-PG]
Explore the stories behind the disastrous Deepwater Horizon oil spill and its continuing effects on a region dependent on nature.

  • KET2 Monday, April 20 at 10:00 pm EDT
  • KET Sunday, April 26 at 1:30 am EDT
  • KET2 Sunday, April 26 at 3:00 am EDT

Closed Captioned Kumu Hina #1614 [TV-PG]
A transgender teacher in Hawaii inspires a tomboyish young girl to lead an all-male hula troupe.

  • KET2 Monday, May 4 at 10:00 pm EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, May 6 at 4:00 am EDT
  • KET Sunday, May 10 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Sunday, May 10 at 3:00 am EDT

Closed Captioned Born to Fly: Elizabeth Streb Vs. Gravity #1615 [TV-PG]
Follow the evolution of daredevil choreographer Elizabeth Streb's movement philosophy as expressed through her technique.

  • KET2 Monday, May 11 at 10:00 pm EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, May 13 at 4:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Friday, May 15 at 3:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Saturday, May 16 at 4:00 am EDT
  • KET Sunday, May 17 at 1:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Sunday, May 17 at 3:00 am EDT

Closed Captioned 1971 #1616 [TV-PG]
In 1971, citizens broke into an FBI office to steal information on an illegal surveillance program.

  • KET2 Monday, May 18 at 10:00 pm EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, May 20 at 4:00 am EDT
  • KET Sunday, May 24 at 1:30 am EDT
  • KET2 Sunday, May 24 at 3:00 am EDT

The New Black #1521 [TV-PG]
A look at how the African American community grapples with same-sex marriage issues in Maryland.

  • KET2 Wednesday, June 3 at 4:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Thursday, June 4 at 3:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Sunday, June 7 at 2:00 am EDT

God Loves Uganda #1520 [TV-M]
A look at how the American Evangelical movement is influencing Uganda's laws against homosexuality.

  • KET2 Wednesday, June 10 at 4:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Sunday, June 14 at 3:00 am EDT

Limited Partnership #1617 [TV-PG]
A gay couple took on the U.S. government to fight for marriage and immigration equality for 40 years.

  • KET2 Monday, June 15 at 10:00 pm EDT
  • KET2 Wednesday, June 17 at 4:00 am EDT
  • KET Sunday, June 21 at 1:30 am EDT
  • KET2 Sunday, June 21 at 3:00 am EDT
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens

Products

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   Some films from the series are available from other sources; see notes for specific episodes.
   Play PBS
   (800) PLAY-PBS (752-9727)
   1320 Braddock Place
   Alexandria, VA 22314

More Like This

Close this window