KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens

Details

Each episode introduces new documentaries and dramas made by independent thinkers: filmmakers who are taking creative risks, calling their own shots and finding untold stories in unexpected places.

TV Schedule

The Kill Team/Confusion Through Sand #1522 [TV-14]
A U.S. infantryman in Afghanistan attempts to expose war crimes committed by his platoon. Also, a short film tells the story of a teenage military recruit alone and scared in a hostile desert.

  • KET Sunday, January 25 at 1:30 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, January 25 at 2:00 am EST

Through a Lens Darkly #1608 [TV-PG]
The story of the pioneering African-American photographers who have recorded the lives of generations, from slavery to the present, is told.

  • KET2 Monday, February 16 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, February 18 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, February 22 at 2:00 am EST

Spies of Mississippi #1511 [TV-PG]
This film tells the story of a secret spy agency formed by the state of Mississippi to preserve segregation during the 1950s and '60s.

  • KET Wednesday, February 18 at 3:00 am EST

American Denial #1609 [TV-PG]
This film uses the story of Gunnar Myrdal's 1944 investigation of Jim Crow racism as a springboard to explore the power of unconscious biases and how the ideals of liberty, equality, and justice still affect notions of race and class today.

  • KET2 Monday, February 23 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, February 25 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 1 at 4:00 am EST

The Revolutionary Optimists #1417 [TV-PG]
Amlan Ganguly empowers children to become change agents in the slums of Kolkata India. This film follows Amlan and three of the children he works with on a journey through adolescence, as they challenge the idea that marginalization is written into their destiny.

  • KET2 Tuesday, March 3 at 2:00 am EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, March 4 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 8 at 3:00 am EST

Seeking Asian Female #1414 [TV-PG]
An elderly American man and a young Chinese woman pursue a marriage brokered by the internet.

  • KET2 Wednesday, March 11 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 15 at 3:00 am EST

Closed Captioned Wonder Women! The Untold Story of American Superheroines #1411 [TV-PG]
The comic book superheroine Wonder Woman and popular representations of powerful women are explored.

  • KET2 Monday, March 16 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, March 18 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, March 22 at 1:30 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 22 at 3:00 am EST

Closed Captioned Little White Lie #1610 [TV-PG]
An upper-middle-class woman with two loving Jewish parents unlocks a powerful family secret.

  • KET2 Monday, March 23 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, March 25 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Friday, March 27 at 2:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, March 29 at 1:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 29 at 4:00 am EST
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens

Products

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   Some films from the series are available from other sources; see notes for specific episodes.
   Play PBS
   (800) PLAY-PBS (752-9727)
   1320 Braddock Place
   Alexandria, VA 22314

More Like This

Close this window