KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens

Details

Each episode introduces new documentaries and dramas made by independent thinkers: filmmakers who are taking creative risks, calling their own shots and finding untold stories in unexpected places.

TV Schedule

Closed Captioned No Mas Bebes (No More Babies) #1707 [TV-PG]
Explore the case of Mexican-American women who claim they were coercively sterilized at a Los Angeles hospital in the late 1960s and 1970s.

  • KET2 Monday, February 1 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, February 3 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, February 7 at 1:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, February 7 at 3:00 am EST

A Ballerina's Tale #1709 [TV-PG]
An intimate look at groundbreaking dancer Misty Copeland, who made history as the first African-American female principal dancer with the prestigious American Ballet Theater.

  • KET2 Monday, February 8 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, February 10 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, February 14 at 1:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, February 14 at 3:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, February 14 at 2:00 pm EST

Kentucky Programming The Powerbroker: Whitney Young's Fight for Civil Rights #1408 [TV-PG]
Whitney M. Young Jr. was one of the most celebrated and controversial leaders of the civil rights era. This documentary follows his journey from segregated Kentucky to head of the National Urban League.

  • KET2 Monday, February 15 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, February 17 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, February 21 at 1:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, February 21 at 3:00 am EST

(T)ERROR #1710 [TV-PG]
A longtime counterterrorism informant takes on what he swears is his last job for the FBI. He invites filmmakers to follow his efforts to befriend a suspected jihadist, without informing his superiors.

  • KET2 Monday, February 22 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, February 24 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET Sunday, February 28 at 1:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, February 28 at 3:00 am EST

Wilhemina's War #1711 [TV-PG]
A Southern grandmother struggles to help her family through the scourge of HIV and AIDS.

  • KET2 Monday, February 29 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, March 2 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Friday, March 4 at 2:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 6 at 4:00 am EST

Closed Captioned Wonder Women! The Untold Story of American Superheroines #1411 [TV-PG]
The comic book superheroine Wonder Woman and popular representations of powerful women are explored.

  • KET2 Wednesday, March 9 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 13 at 4:00 am EST

The Revolutionary Optimists #1417 [TV-PG]
Amlan Ganguly empowers children to become change agents in the slums of Kolkata India. This film follows Amlan and three of the children he works with on a journey through adolescence, as they challenge the idea that marginalization is written into their destiny.

  • KET2 Wednesday, March 16 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 20 at 3:00 am EST

Closed Captioned The Graduates #1501 [TV-PG]
An intimate look at the roots of the Latino dropout crisis through the eyes of six inspiring young students.

  • KET2 Monday, March 21 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, March 23 at 4:00 am EST
  • KET2 Sunday, March 27 at 4:00 am EST

An Honest Liar #1712 [TV-PG]
Meet James "The Amazing" Randi, the famed magician who has dedicated his life to exposing frauds.

  • KET2 Monday, March 28 at 10:00 pm EST
  • KET2 Wednesday, March 30 at 4:00 am EST
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.pbs.org/independentlens

Products

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   Some films from the series are available from other sources; see notes for specific episodes.
   Play PBS
   (800) PLAY-PBS (752-9727)
   1320 Braddock Place
   Alexandria, VA 22314

More Like This

Close this window