KET »

Series Information

Details

From ramen to rotting bananas, from Copenhagen to Kentucky, from pork buns to golf clubs, this series unlocks the potential of food, travel, and the mind.

TV Schedule

American #302 [TV-PG]
Ed makes Jop Chai, a Thai stew, and enjoys a sweat-inducing crawfish dinner in a Vietnamese joint.

  • KET2 Monday, September 15 at 1:30 pm EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, September 16 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, September 19 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, September 20 at 10:30 am EDT

Argentina #303 [TV-PG]
Ed travels to Argentina to visit Chef Francis Mallmann, the godfather of open-flame cooking.

  • KET2 Monday, September 22 at 1:30 pm EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, September 23 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, September 26 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, September 27 at 10:30 am EDT

Louisville #304 [TV-PG]
Ed got his start in NYC, but now calls Louisville home and home is where the heart is. He discusses how living and working in Louisville have inspired, influenced and changed him over the past decade - Louisville is where he gently put aside his classic French technique and decided to do something all his own. Working with chef Kevin Ashworth from Ed's restaurant Milkwood, the chefs experiment with farmers market finds, allowing a view into how a new dish is created. Ed then delves into Louisville's fried chicken scene and cooks up his own version with North Carolina chef Ashley Christensen. Finally, honoring the woman who kept him in Louisville in the first place, Ed uses the city's German heritage as inspiration to cook hasenpfeffer for his wife, Dianne.

  • KET2 Monday, September 29 at 1:30 pm EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, September 30 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, October 3 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, October 4 at 10:30 am EDT

Kentucky Programming Kentucky #305 [TV-PG]
The Bluegrass State offers so much more than just mint juleps and the Kentucky Derby, with a rich culinary history that rivals that of America's more well-known food destinations. A few ingredients come to Ed's mind when he thinks about his adopted state: country ham, sorghum and smoke. Ed visits Nancy Newsom, still making her family's ham with their century-old recipe, with Southern food historian and Atlanta chef Linton Hopkins. Then it's off to Owensboro with homegrown chef (and local celebrity) Ouita Michel, to make a dish featuring two more local ingredients: smoke and spoonbill caviar. Yes, caviar from Kentucky. And finally, Ed places Kentucky's most prized crop - sorghum - on a pedestal and creates a decadent ice cream with the viscous, sweet, earthy amber syrup.

  • KET2 Monday, October 6 at 1:30 pm EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 7 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, October 10 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, October 11 at 10:30 am EDT

Latitude #306 [TV-PG]
Mediterranean dim sum and Memphis favorites imbued with Calabrian family traditions are showcased.

  • KET2 Monday, October 13 at 1:30 pm EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 14 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, October 17 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, October 18 at 10:30 am EDT

Impermanence #307 [TV-PG]
Ed dissects the evolution of a dish and the public's changing tastes. He tries his hand at cooking alternative meats like alligator.

  • KET2 Monday, October 20 at 1:30 pm EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 21 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET Friday, October 24 at midnight EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, October 25 at 10:30 am EDT

Bourbon #308 [TV-PG]
What is bourbon? A whiskey, sure, but what makes bourbon the classic American spirit, and why is it so closely associated with Kentucky? Ed and his band of merry men and women, including whiskey patriarch Julian Van Winkle, Matt Jamie from Bourbon and Barrel Foods, chef Paul Qui, and special guest and bourbon-lover Aisha Tyler, set out to distill this prized and often misunderstood liquor down to its many parts and enjoy it both in the glass and on the plate.

  • KET2 Monday, October 27 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 28 at 5:00 am EST
  • KET Friday, October 31 at midnight EST
  • KETKY Saturday, November 1 at 10:30 am EST

Winter #309 [TV-PG]
The ways that the Scandinavian people use preservation and aging during winter are explored.

  • KET2 Monday, November 3 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KET Friday, November 7 at midnight EST

Spring #310 [TV-PG]
The ingredients of spring, including young herbs and flavorful fungi, in Sweden are explored.

  • KET2 Monday, November 10 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KET Friday, November 14 at midnight EST

Creation #311 [TV-PG]
Chef Nilsson follows the life cycle of an ingredient as it transforms from an idea into a dish at his restaurant.

  • KET2 Monday, November 17 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KET Friday, November 21 at midnight EST

France #312 [TV-PG]
Magnus Nilsson's time in France and the people that impacted his cooking philosophy are explored.

  • KET2 Monday, November 24 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KET Friday, November 28 at midnight EST

Traditions #313 [TV-PG]

  • KET2 Monday, December 1 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KET Friday, December 5 at midnight EST

Locality #314 [TV-PG]

  • KET2 Monday, December 8 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KET Friday, December 12 at midnight EST

Documentation #315 [TV-PG]

  • KET2 Monday, December 15 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KET Friday, December 19 at midnight EST

Faviken #316 [TV-PG]

  • KET2 Monday, December 22, 2014 at 1:30 pm EST
  • KET Friday, December 26, 2014 at midnight EST
List all episodes

More Like This

Close this window