KET »

Series Information

Details

From ramen to rotting bananas, from Copenhagen to Kentucky, from pork buns to golf clubs, this series unlocks the potential of food, travel, and the mind.

TV Schedule

Faviken #316 [TV-PG]
Chef Magnus Nilsson prepares for a night of service at one of world's most interesting restaurants.

  • KETKY Saturday, March 21 at 12:30 am EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, June 16 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, July 11, 2015 at 12:30 am EDT

New York #111 [TV-PG]
This all-New York features the Torrisi boys, oysters, carrot dashi, and farming. David Chang visits native New Yorker Ivan Orkin in Tokyo, where he's making ramen that's taking the city by storm.

  • KET2 Monday, March 23 at 1:30 pm EST

Kentucky Programming Louisville #304 [TV-PG]
Ed got his start in NYC, but now calls Louisville home and home is where the heart is. He discusses how living and working in Louisville have inspired, influenced and changed him over the past decade - Louisville is where he gently put aside his classic French technique and decided to do something all his own. Working with chef Kevin Ashworth from Ed's restaurant Milkwood, the chefs experiment with farmers market finds, allowing a view into how a new dish is created. Ed then delves into Louisville's fried chicken scene and cooks up his own version with North Carolina chef Ashley Christensen. Finally, honoring the woman who kept him in Louisville in the first place, Ed uses the city's German heritage as inspiration to cook hasenpfeffer for his wife, Dianne.

  • KETKY Tuesday, March 24 at 5:00 am EST
  • KETKY Saturday, April 18 at 12:30 am EDT

NYC Origin #301 [TV-PG]
Chef Ed Lee returns to his roots in East Brooklyn and cooks Korean-Southern American cuisine.

  • KETKY Saturday, March 28 at 12:30 am EST

Fresh #112 [TV-PG]
This episode explores the idea of fresh in the kitchen: instant broth, pea agnollini, fresh and aged steak with Chef Tien, and "ike jime" with Dave Arnold and Chef Murata in Kyoto.

  • KET2 Monday, March 30 at 1:30 pm EST

Kentucky Programming Kentucky #305 [TV-PG]
The Bluegrass State offers so much more than just mint juleps and the Kentucky Derby, with a rich culinary history that rivals that of America's more well-known food destinations. A few ingredients come to Ed's mind when he thinks about his adopted state: country ham, sorghum and smoke. Ed visits Nancy Newsom, still making her family's ham with their century-old recipe, with Southern food historian and Atlanta chef Linton Hopkins. Then it's off to Owensboro with homegrown chef (and local celebrity) Ouita Michel, to make a dish featuring two more local ingredients: smoke and spoonbill caviar. Yes, caviar from Kentucky. And finally, Ed places Kentucky's most prized crop - sorghum - on a pedestal and creates a decadent ice cream with the viscous, sweet, earthy amber syrup.

  • KETKY Tuesday, March 31 at 5:00 am EST
  • KETKY Saturday, April 25 at 12:30 am EDT

American #302 [TV-PG]
Ed makes Jop Chai, a Thai stew, and enjoys a sweat-inducing crawfish dinner in a Vietnamese joint.

  • KETKY Saturday, April 4 at 12:30 am EST

Soy #113 [TV-PG]
Chef Christina Tosi makes burnt miso apple pie, Laurent Gras takes on tofu, David Chang makes his classic corn miso, and the Torrisi boys compare making tofu to making mozzarella.

  • KET2 Monday, April 6 at 1:30 pm EDT

Argentina #303 [TV-PG]
Ed travels to Argentina to visit Chef Francis Mallmann, the godfather of open-flame cooking.

  • KETKY Saturday, April 11 at 12:30 am EDT

Sweet Spot #114 [TV-PG]
Christina Tosi makes corn cookies three ways and her three-layered Arnold Palmer cake. Chef Burns makes ice cream and David goes strawberry picking.

  • KET2 Monday, April 13 at 1:30 pm EDT

Smoke #115 [TV-PG]
David Chang profiles regional BBQ in North Carolina, Texas, and Kansas City and the other-worldly smoky bacon from Allen Benton in Tennessee.

  • KET2 Monday, April 20 at 1:30 pm EDT

Buddies #116 [TV-PG]
David Chang cooks with his friends Peter Meehan in Japan, Laurent Gras, Sat Bains, and Rene Redzepi in Copenhagen.

  • KET2 Monday, April 27 at 1:30 pm EDT

Latitude #306 [TV-PG]
Mediterranean dim sum and Memphis favorites imbued with Calabrian family traditions are showcased.

  • KETKY Saturday, May 2 at 12:30 am EDT

Southerners #201 [TV-PG]
Chef Ed Lee cooks a dish using the Kentucky holy trinity: bourbon, sorghum, and country ham. Okra and grits, tamales, buttermilk pie, and more Southern foods are explored.

  • KET2 Monday, May 4 at 1:30 pm EDT

Spring #310 [TV-PG]
The ingredients of spring, including young herbs and flavorful fungi, in Sweden are explored.

  • KETKY Tuesday, May 5 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 30 at 12:30 am EDT

Impermanence #307 [TV-PG]
Ed dissects the evolution of a dish and the public's changing tastes. He tries his hand at cooking alternative meats like alligator.

  • KETKY Saturday, May 9 at 12:30 am EDT

Seeds #202 [TV-PG]
Sean Brock visits Anson Mills to hand-quern Jimmy Red Corn, explore fire threshing, and cook Hominy.

  • KET2 Monday, May 11 at 1:30 pm EDT

Creation #311 [TV-PG]
Chef Nilsson follows the life cycle of an ingredient as it transforms from an idea into a dish at his restaurant.

  • KETKY Tuesday, May 12 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 6 at 12:30 am EDT

Kentucky Programming Bourbon #308 [TV-PG]
What is bourbon? A whiskey, sure, but what makes bourbon the classic American spirit, and why is it so closely associated with Kentucky? Ed and his band of merry men and women, including whiskey patriarch Julian Van Winkle, Matt Jamie from Bourbon and Barrel Foods, chef Paul Qui, and special guest and bourbon-lover Aisha Tyler, set out to distill this prized and often misunderstood liquor down to its many parts and enjoy it both in the glass and on the plate.

  • KETKY Saturday, May 16 at 12:30 am EDT

Rice #203 [TV-PG]
Sean Brock explores rice and its essential role in Southern cuisine. He makes Jambalaya, pilaf, and other rice dishes.

  • KET2 Monday, May 18 at 1:30 pm EDT

France #312 [TV-PG]
Magnus Nilsson's time in France and the people that impacted his cooking philosophy are explored.

  • KETKY Tuesday, May 19 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 13 at 12:30 am EDT

Winter #309 [TV-PG]
The ways that the Scandinavian people use preservation and aging during winter are explored.

  • KETKY Saturday, May 23 at 12:30 am EDT

Louisiana #204 [TV-PG]
Sean Brock explores Louisiana cuisine and prepares the Catfish Chip, Jambalaya, and a frog dish.

  • KET2 Monday, May 25 at 1:30 pm EDT

Traditions #313 [TV-PG]
A look at how the bonds of tradition help to forge the identities of families and individuals.

  • KETKY Tuesday, May 26 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 20 at 12:30 am EDT

Preserve #205 [TV-PG]
Sean explores the preservation techniques of drying, salt curing, canning, fermentation, and jamming.

  • KET2 Monday, June 1 at 1:30 pm EDT

Locality #314 [TV-PG]
Chef Nilsson depends on his network of local purveyors to keep the restaurant supplied.

  • KETKY Tuesday, June 2 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 27, 2015 at 12:30 am EDT

Roots #206 [TV-PG]
Sean Brock prepares a typical Korean meal with his mom. Louisville Chef Ed Lee makes chicken dumplings.

  • KET2 Monday, June 8 at 1:30 pm EDT

Documentation #315 [TV-PG]
Chef Nilsson's motivation for documenting and researching Nordic cultures is examined.

  • KETKY Tuesday, June 9 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, July 4, 2015 at 12:30 am EDT

Low Country BBQ #207 [TV-PG]
Sean Brock showcases the food of Charleston by preparing an epic outdoor feast on his friend's farm.

  • KET2 Monday, June 15 at 1:30 pm EDT

Senegal #208 [TV-PG]
Chef Sean Brock travels to Senegal to explore the markets of Dakar and cook Dakar pea fritters.

  • KET2 Monday, June 22 at 1:30 pm EDT

London #209 [TV-PG]
April Bloomfield cooks walnut tagliatelle, makes a rabbit pie, and heads to the pub for scotch eggs.

  • KET2 Monday, June 29, 2015 at 1:30 pm EDT

Sea/Salt #210 [TV-PG]
April goes clamming and makes clam chowder and Carte da Musica with Bottarga and Chili.

  • KET2 Monday, July 6, 2015 at 1:30 pm EDT

Curry #211 [TV-PG]
April explores the original versions of Curry and her homeland's take on this historic cuisine.

  • KET2 Monday, July 13, 2015 at 1:30 pm EDT

Italian #212 [TV-PG]
April explores her deep love for Italian cuisine and its influence on her cooking. She walnut tagliatelle and her famous gnudi.

  • KET2 Monday, July 20, 2015 at 1:30 pm EDT

British Classics #213 [TV-PG]
April and her friends prepare their versions of bangers and mash, fish and chips, and pies.

  • KET2 Monday, July 27, 2015 at 1:30 pm EDT

Farmer #214 [TV-PG]
April travels from London to Cornwall to visit and cook with farmer and chef Tom Adams on his farm.

  • KET2 Monday, August 3, 2015 at 1:30 pm EDT

Leftovers #215 [TV-PG]
April cooks faggots, Bubble and Squeak, and pig parts. Fergus Henderson works his magic on kidneys.

  • KET2 Monday, August 10, 2015 at 1:30 pm EDT

Restaurateur #216 [TV-PG]
April explores the challenges of opening her first out-of-state venture in San Francisco: Tosca.

  • KET2 Monday, August 17, 2015 at 1:30 pm EDT
List all episodes

More Like This

Close this window