KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://filsonhistorical.org/

Details

The Filson Historical Society lecture series brings authors to the public who have made a significant contribution in highlighting our regional and national history.

TV Schedule

Kentucky Programming Sallie Bingham's Literary Reflections #101
Kentucky author Sallie Bingham looks back on her family's history through recently found letters and writings.

  • KETKY Tuesday, September 8 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, September 10 at 2:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Evan Thomas - Eisenhower's Secret Battle to Save the World #102
Author and journalist Evan Thomas discusses his book Ike's Bluff: President Eisenhower's Secret Battle to Save the World.

  • KETKY Tuesday, September 15 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, September 17 at 2:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Estill Curtis Pennington - Country Mice and City Slickers #103
American culture historian Ellis Curtis Pennington compares and contrasts the decorative styles and seminal events of Lexington and Louisville.

  • KETKY Tuesday, September 22 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, September 24 at 2:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming L. Douglas Keeney - The Pointblank Directive: Three Generals and the Daring Plan that Saved D-Day #104
L. Douglas Keeney, military historian and co-founder of The Military Channel, presents new research about three aviation strategists who were able to sweep the skies clean of the Luftwaffe to gain air superiority over the D-Day beaches.

  • KETKY Tuesday, September 29 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 1 at 2:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Pen Bogert - From Brass Bands to Jazz #105
Pen Bogert discusses how free African-Americans led popular string and brass bands in Louisville in the antebellum era, thereby providing a direct link between antebellum music and the origins of jazz in the city.

  • KETKY Tuesday, October 6 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 8 at 2:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming James McPherson - War on the Waters: The Union and Confederate Navies 1861-1865 #106
Pulitzer Prize-winning historian James McPherson discusses the use of naval forces by the Union and Confederate armies during the Civil War.

  • KETKY Tuesday, October 13 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 15 at 2:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Rick Atkinson - The Guns at Last Light: The War in Western Europe 1944-1945 #107
World War II chronicler Rick Atkinson discusses The Guns at Last Light: The War in Western Europe, 1944 - 1945, the third and final book in his Liberation Trilogy.

  • KETKY Tuesday, October 20 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Thursday, October 22 at 2:00 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Woodrow Wilson #108
Author A. Scott Berg discusses his book, Wilson, about the life and legacy of President Woodrow Wilson. Long viewed as a cold and aloof intellectual, Wilson is revealed by Berg to be a man of intense passion, emotional turbulence, and hidden political skill.

  • KETKY Tuesday, October 27 at 5:00 am EST
  • KETKY Thursday, October 29 at 2:00 pm EST
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://filsonhistorical.org/

More Like This

Close this window