KET »

Series Information

Details

Stories from Appalachian, African-American, and Native American folk traditions told by master storytellers. A KET production.

TV Schedule

Kentucky Programming Hardy Hard Head #101
A "Jack tale" in which Jack bets with a witch, told by Appalachian storyteller Anndrena Belcher.

  • KET Thursday, September 10 at 2:15 pm EDT
  • KET Friday, September 11 at 5:15 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, September 11 at 2:15 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming The Two Gals #102
A story about a good sister and a bad sister, told by Appalachian storyteller Anndrena Belcher.

  • KET Thursday, September 17 at 2:15 pm EDT
  • KET Friday, September 18 at 5:15 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, September 18 at 2:15 pm EDT

The Buzzard and the Monkey #103
An African-American tale, told by John O'Neal, in which the buzzard learns a lesson.

  • KET Thursday, September 24 at 2:15 pm EDT
  • KET Friday, September 25 at 5:15 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, September 25 at 2:15 pm EDT

The Possum and the Snake #104
A traditional African-American story about character and deception, told by John O'Neal.

  • KET Thursday, October 1 at 2:15 pm EDT
  • KET Friday, October 2 at 5:15 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, October 2 at 2:15 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Jack and the Giants #105
A "Jack tale" which pits Jack against four giants, told by Appalachian storytellers Rich Kirby and Tom Bledsoe.

  • KET Thursday, October 8 at 2:15 pm EDT
  • KET Friday, October 9 at 5:15 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, October 9 at 2:15 pm EDT

Kentucky Programming Soap/Cat and Rat #106
The tale of a forgetful little boy and how forgetfulness gets him into trouble and a story of how the rat lost his tail and got it back again, both told by Appalachian storytellers Tom Bledsoe and Rich Kirby.

  • KET Thursday, October 15 at 2:15 pm EDT
  • KET Friday, October 16 at 5:15 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, October 16 at 2:15 pm EDT

Little Deer and Mother Earth #107
A Cherokee tale with an environmental message, told by Marilou Awiakta.

  • KET Thursday, October 22 at 2:15 pm EDT
  • KET Friday, October 23 at 5:15 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, October 23 at 2:15 pm EDT

Rising Fawn and the Fire Mystery #108
A tale about cultural identity from Choctaw history, told by Native American storyteller Marilou Awiakta.

  • KET Thursday, October 29 at 2:15 pm EST
  • KET Friday, October 30 at 5:15 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, October 30 at 2:15 pm EST

The Parable of the Eagle #109
A version of the African fable about how the eagle learned to fly told by Mama Yaa (Louisville storyteller Gloria Bivens).

  • KET Thursday, November 5, 2015 at 2:15 pm EST
  • KET Friday, November 6, 2015 at 5:15 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, November 6, 2015 at 2:15 pm EST

Anansi's Rescue from the River #110
A story about Anansi, the trickster hero of Ashanti Land on the west coast of Africa, told by Mama Yaa (Louisville storyteller Gloria Bivens).

  • KET Thursday, November 12, 2015 at 2:15 pm EST
  • KET Friday, November 13, 2015 at 5:15 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, November 13, 2015 at 2:15 pm EST

Kentucky Programming Wicked John #111
The story of a really mean man, told by Appalachian storytellers and musicians Tom Bledsoe, Rich Kirby, and Joy D'Elia.

  • KET Thursday, November 19, 2015 at 2:15 pm EST
  • KET Friday, November 20, 2015 at 5:15 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, November 20, 2015 at 2:15 pm EST
List all episodes

Products

DOWNLOADABLE GUIDE: http://www.ket.org/education/guides/tellingtales1.pdf
   Price available upon request.
   Part I: Pages 1-42; PDF format.
   KET Online

DOWNLOADABLE GUIDE: http://www.ket.org/education/guides/tellingtales2.pdf
   Price available upon request.
   Part II: Pages 43-84; PDF format.
   KET Online

VIDEO:
   Price available upon request.
   KET Duplication Services
   (800) 945-9167
   600 Cooper Drive
   Lexington, KY 40502-2296
   shop@ket.org

More Like This

Close this window