Series Information

Web site:


A cooking series that explores America's culinary beginnings from the Birthplace of American Cuisine. Chef Walter Staib hosts.

TV Schedule

Benjamin Franklin - At Home In London #609 [TV-G]
Chef Staib cooks Ben Franklin's own recipes for lettuce and anchovy Soup, stuffed lobster, and more.

  • KET Friday, November 20 at 11:30 pm EST
  • KET2 Tuesday, December 8 at 7:00 pm EST

Grenada - The Spice Island #607 [TV-G]
Chef Staib visits Grenada and cooks with local chefs to make 'oil down' and other island dishes.

  • KET2 Tuesday, November 24 at 7:00 pm EST

The Return of L' Hermione #610 [TV-G]
Chef Staib makes calf livers in calvados with apples, potato gratin, poached leeks in vinaigrette, dandelion salad with lardons, and more.

  • KET Friday, December 4 at 11:30 pm EST
  • KET2 Tuesday, December 15 at 7:00 pm EST

Back to The Black Forest #611 [TV-G]
Chef Staib prepares Maultaschen, or Black Forest ravioli, Black Forest potato salad, and Black Forest cake.

  • KET Friday, December 11 at 11:30 pm EST

Roots of Creole Cooking In St Lucia #612 [TV-G]
Chef Walter Staib prepares authentic Creole cuisine with local experts in St. Lucia.

  • KET Friday, December 25 at 11:30 pm EST
  • KET2 Tuesday, December 29 at 7:00 pm EST

Engineering A Revolution #501 [TV-G]
Walter prepares Hungarian Goulash and cabbage potato stew with kielbasa in honor of Thaddeus Kosciuszko.

  • KET Friday, January 1 at 11:30 pm EST
  • KET2 Tuesday, January 5 at 7:00 pm EST

Star Spangled Banner #502 [TV-G]
In honor of our national anthem, Walter celebrates the Star Spangled Banner at Ft. McHenry by preparing eel and mussel chowder, smoke pheasant en croute, roasted veal shank, and bread pudding with black currants.

  • KET2 Tuesday, January 12 at 7:00 pm EST

Let Freedom Ring #503 [TV-G]
Walter pays tribute to the Liberty Bell with sauteed shad roe and coq au vin rouge.

  • KET2 Tuesday, January 19 at 7:00 pm EST

El Camino Real #504 [TV-G]
Chef Walter travels to New Mexico and recounts the incredible journey of migration to our early Southwest. He prepares authentic People of the Red Willow recipes of Atole, a blue corn porridge, and elk stew.

  • KET2 Tuesday, January 26 at 7:00 pm EST

Chili Peppers: Fruit of New Mexico #505 [TV-G]
Chef Staib visits New Mexico for the chili pepper harvest and makes short ribs, red polenta, and wild boar chile.

  • KET2 Tuesday, February 2 at 7:00 pm EST

King of Prussia #506 [TV-G]
Chef Staib prepares authentic German favorites, Konigsberger Klopse meatballs in caper sauce, Eisbein pork shanks, and apple strudel.

  • KET2 Tuesday, February 9 at 7:00 pm EST

Battle of Nassau #507 [TV-G]
Chef Staib prepares boiled fish, curried lobster and Johnny Cakes in the Bahamas.

  • KET2 Tuesday, February 16 at 7:00 pm EST

Trekking South Africa #508 [TV-G]
Join Chef Staib as he prepares warthog kebobs and ostrich stew on an incredible journey to South Africa.

  • KET2 Tuesday, February 23 at 7:00 pm EST

Original Americans #509 [TV-G]
Chef Staib prepares cornmeal fried catfish, stuffed squash, maple baked beans, and corn and cranberry pancakes.

  • KET2 Tuesday, March 1, 2016 at 7:00 pm EST

Under The Vine and Figtree #510 [TV-G]
To celebrate our pluralism, Chef Staib prepares calf brains with butter and capers and beef royale.

  • KET2 Tuesday, March 8, 2016 at 7:00 pm EST

A Capital Design #511 [TV-G]
Chef Staib honors French architect Pierre L'Enfant by preparing liver dumplings, veal tongue fricassee, sauteed heirloom carrots, and chocolate mousse cake.

  • KET2 Tuesday, March 15, 2016 at 7:00 pm EST

Original Sushi #512 [TV-G]
Kobe Japan is the backdrop for the secrets of sushi-making and demystifying the most prized and pampered beef in the world, Kobe Beef.

  • KET2 Tuesday, March 22, 2016 at 7:00 pm EST

Revolutionary Caribbean #513 [TV-G]
The island of Turks and Caicos is Chef Staib's muse as he prepares conch chowder and cod fish cakes.

  • KET2 Tuesday, March 29, 2016 at 7:00 pm EST
List all episodes


Official web site:

More Like This

Close this window