KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://roughcutwoodworking.com

Details

Furniture maker Tommy MacDonald travels to historic landmarks to gain design inspiration and then returns to his workshop to demonstrate the steps and techniques needed to create future family heirlooms.

TV Schedule

Hall Tree and Bench #508 [TV-G]
Marc Spagnuolo makes a hall tree and bench, which can add both elegance and convenience to any home.

  • KET Wednesday, March 4 at 5:30 am EST
  • KET2 Saturday, April 4 at 1:00 pm EST

Gate Leg Table #509 [TV-G]
Tommy tours the North Bennet Street School and learns something new about the gate leg table.

  • KET Wednesday, March 11 at 5:30 am EST
  • KET2 Saturday, April 11 at 1:00 pm EDT

Shaker Style Clock #510 [TV-G]
Tommy visits a Shaker Village to learn about a Shaker, old-time staple, the Shaker Style Clock.

  • KET Wednesday, March 18 at 5:30 am EST
  • KET2 Saturday, April 18 at 1:00 pm EDT

Linen Press, Part One #506 [TV-G]
Tommy shows how to design and build a linen press, starting with the frame and drawers.

  • KET2 Saturday, March 21 at 1:00 pm EST

Queen Anne Table #511 [TV-G]
Tommy visits the Holy Name Cathedral in Chicago and creates a Queen Anne table with curved legs.

  • KET Wednesday, March 25 at 5:30 am EST
  • KET2 Saturday, April 25 at 1:00 pm EDT

Linen Press, Part Two #507 [TV-G]
Tommy finishes his stunning, cherry wood linen press by completing the upper element, the wardrobe.

  • KET2 Saturday, March 28 at 1:00 pm EST

Frank Lloyd Wright Light Pendants #512 [TV-G]
Tommy embarks on his second Frank Lloyd Wright style project, the Light Pendant.

  • KET Wednesday, April 1 at 5:30 am EST
  • KET2 Saturday, May 2 at 1:00 pm EDT

China Cabinet #513 [TV-G]
Tommy works with friend Al D'Attanasio to build a china cabinet perfect for any home.

  • KET Wednesday, April 8 at 5:30 am EDT
  • KET2 Saturday, May 9 at 1:00 pm EDT

Coopered Leg Table #301 [TV-G]
Tommy creates a beautiful ambrosia maple Coopered Leg Table - perfect for a dining room or office.

  • KET Wednesday, April 15 at 5:30 am EDT

Workbench #302 [TV-G]
Tommy makes a workbench with mortise and tenon joinery and a beautiful solid maple top.

  • KET Wednesday, April 22 at 5:30 am EDT

Barley Twist Lamp #303 [TV-G]
Tommy tackles the difficult technique of off-set turning on a lathe when he makes a Barley Twist Lamp.

  • KET Wednesday, April 29 at 5:30 am EDT

Mitered Hall Table #304 [TV-G]
Tommy makes a mitered hall table out of one giant slab of figured maple.

  • KET Wednesday, May 6 at 5:30 am EDT

Dovetailed Toolbox #305 [TV-G]
Tommy will demonstrate how to achieve the striking dovetail joinery found on his toolbox.

  • KET Wednesday, May 13 at 5:30 am EDT

Steam Bent Chair #306 [TV-G]
Tommy builds a beautiful, sleek steam bent lounge chair - perfect for inside and out.

  • KET Wednesday, May 20 at 5:30 am EDT

Carved Frame #307 [TV-G]
Tommy builds a beautiful mahogany frame with hand-carved lettering.

  • KET Wednesday, May 27 at 5:30 am EDT

Bamboo Vanity #308 [TV-G]
Tommy makes a simple bamboo vanity perfect as a base cabinet in a kitchen or bathroom.

  • KET Wednesday, June 3 at 5:30 am EDT

Laminated Bowl #309 [TV-G]
Tommy shows a super efficient method to make this bowl and craft it to perfection on the lathe.

  • KET Wednesday, June 10, 2015 at 5:30 am EDT

Demilune Table #310 [TV-G]
Tommy builds a classic Demilune table with a stunning antique looking veneer belt.

  • KET Wednesday, June 17, 2015 at 5:30 am EDT

Free Standing Deck #311 [TV-G]
Tommy will focus on the basics of frame construction and installing a solid support system.

  • KET Wednesday, June 24, 2015 at 5:30 am EDT

Platform Bed #312 [TV-G]
Tommy joins forces with actor and woodworker, Nick Offerman, to create a platform bed.

  • KET Wednesday, July 1, 2015 at 5:30 am EDT

Media Center #313 [TV-G]
Tommy visits Jim Craig, legendary hockey goalie, to create a media center.

  • KET Wednesday, July 8, 2015 at 5:30 am EDT
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://roughcutwoodworking.com

Products

DVD:
   Price available upon request.
   Play PBS
   (800) PLAY-PBS (752-9727)
   1320 Braddock Place
   Alexandria, VA 22314

More Like This

Close this window