KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.pbs.org/wws/

Details

This series demonstrates traditional furniture making.

TV Schedule

Rachell's Standing Desk 2 #3302 [TV-G]
The miter-clamped breadboard end makes a broad desktop that always stays flat.

  • KET2 Saturday, June 27 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 8 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, August 31 at 6:00 pm EDT

Screw Cuttin' Lathe #3206 [TV-G]
Roy uses an 1889 foot-powered lathe to cut perfect threads, cones, and tapers in iron and brass.

  • KET2 Monday, June 29 at 6:00 pm EDT

Rachell's Standing Desk #3301 [TV-G]
Give your butt joints a break with the tenons and dovetails that connect this pine standing desk from Pennsylvania.

  • KET Wednesday, July 1 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, August 24 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Venerable Bead #3303 [TV-G]
Roy Underhill demonstrates how to cut bead moldings with hand planes for corners that look sharp and last longer.

  • KET2 Saturday, July 4 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 15 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, September 7 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Troublesome Triangle Stool #3207 [TV-G]
Peter Follansbee and Roy Underhill tackle terrible turned tenons for the old triangular stool.

  • KET2 Monday, July 6 at 6:00 pm EDT

Carving Away with Mary May #3304 [TV-G]
Classical carver Mary May provides a lesson on woodcarving and a proper rebuke for edge tool abuse!

  • KET2 Saturday, July 11 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 22 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, September 14 at 6:00 pm EDT

Wretched Ratchet Reading Rack #3208 [TV-G]
With foot-powered lathes, Peter Follansbee turns this adjustable bookstand from walnut and maple.

  • KET2 Monday, July 13 at 6:00 pm EDT

Swinging Saw Vise #3305 [TV-G]
Roy duplicates the beveled bridle joints and chamfered chops of an old saw-sharpening vise.

  • KET2 Saturday, July 18 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 29 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, September 21 at 6:00 pm EDT

Raising Panel-Zona #3209 [TV-G]
Roy Underhill uses both complex planes and tricks with basic tools to raise the classic panel.

  • KET2 Monday, July 20 at 6:00 pm EDT

Sharpen That Saw! #3306 [TV-G]
Using giant model rip and crosscut saws, Roy demonstrates how to correctly sharpen handsaws.

  • KET2 Saturday, July 25 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, August 5 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, September 28 at 6:00 pm EDT

Carving The Camellia #3210 [TV-G]
Woodcarver Mary May makes basswood flowers bloom. Get in the groove of high-relief carving with sharp gouges and good-grained wood!

  • KET2 Monday, July 27 at 6:00 pm EDT

Combination Planes #3307 [TV-G]
Roy attempts to replace a chest of molding planes with one complex metal contraption.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 1 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, August 12 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, October 5, 2015 at 6:00 pm EDT

Forging The Hold Fast #3211 [TV-G]
Blacksmith Peter Ross shows how to forge historical versions of this powerful gripper.

  • KET2 Monday, August 3 at 6:00 pm EDT

Joined Chest with Peter Follansbee #3308 [TV-G]
The master joiner of Plimoth Plantation shows how to frame a small, mortised, and tenoned chest in the old English style.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 8 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, August 19 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, October 12, 2015 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Enfield Cupboard #3212 [TV-G]
Simple to construct and elegant in design, this cupboard is a standby in any room or shop.

  • KET2 Monday, August 10 at 6:00 pm EDT

Paneled Chest with Peter Follansbee #3309 [TV-G]
A master joiner shows Roy how to make and fit the beveled panels and storage till into a framed chest from the Pilgrim era.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 15 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, August 26 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, October 19, 2015 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Shaker Bend #3213 [TV-G]
From their furniture to their bentwood boxes, the Shakers may be our most modern artisans.

  • KET2 Monday, August 17 at 6:00 pm EDT

Early Iron with Peter Ross #3310 [TV-G]
Master blacksmith Peter Ross shows how to forge iron hinges and locks from the earliest days of the American experience.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 22 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, September 2 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, October 26, 2015 at 6:00 pm EST

Try Square with Christopher Schwarz #3311 [TV-G]
Chris Schwarz shows Roy how to measure up with an English try square based on the examples in the famous Benjamin Seaton tool chest.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 29 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, September 9 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, November 2, 2015 at 6:00 pm EST

Dutch Tool Chest with Christopher Schwarz #3312 [TV-G]
Learn to make the simple and useful Dutch tool chest with its characteristic 30-degree slanted lid.

  • KET2 Saturday, September 5 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, September 16 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, November 9, 2015 at 6:00 pm EST

Big Ash Mallet! #3313 [TV-G]
With ash head and hickory handle, Roy shows how to make a proper joiner's mallet for the ages.

  • KET2 Saturday, September 12 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, September 23 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, November 16, 2015 at 6:00 pm EST
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.pbs.org/wws/

Products

BOOK:
   Price available upon request.
   University of North Carolina Press
   (800) 848-6224
   P.O. Box 2288
   Chapel Hill, NC 27515-2288

VIDEO:
   $14.95
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org

More Like This

Close this window