KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.pbs.org/wws/

Details

This series demonstrates traditional furniture making.

TV Schedule

Simple Sash #3113 [TV-G]
Windows in an old mill are restored.

  • KET Wednesday, September 24 at 5:00 am EDT

The Troublesome Triangle Stool #3207 [TV-G]
Peter Follansbee and Roy Underhill tackle terrible turned tenons for the old triangular stool.

  • KET2 Saturday, September 27 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET2 Monday, September 29 at 6:00 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, November 12 at 5:00 am EST

Rise of the Machines! #3201 [TV-G]
Roy gets caught up in up a bevy of century-old, foot-powered woodworking machines.

  • KET Wednesday, October 1 at 5:00 am EDT

Wretched Ratchet Reading Rack #3208 [TV-G]
With foot-powered lathes, Peter Follansbee turns this adjustable bookstand from walnut and maple.

  • KET2 Saturday, October 4 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET2 Monday, October 6 at 6:00 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, November 19 at 5:00 am EST

The Eleven Grooved Box #3202 [TV-G]
Grooves and splines make a tidy oak box, but can the joints be cut by just using hand tools?

  • KET Wednesday, October 8 at 5:00 am EDT

Raising Panel-Zona #3209 [TV-G]
Roy Underhill uses both complex planes and tricks with basic tools to raise the classic panel.

  • KET2 Saturday, October 11 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET2 Monday, October 13 at 6:00 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, November 26 at 5:00 am EST

Table Joints Rule! #3203 [TV-G]
You can't make a drop-leaf table without the rule joint. See the tools needed to cut it by hand.

  • KET Wednesday, October 15 at 5:00 am EDT

Carving The Camellia #3210 [TV-G]
Woodcarver Mary May makes basswood flowers bloom. Get in the groove of high-relief carving with sharp gouges and good-grained wood!

  • KET2 Saturday, October 18 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET2 Monday, October 20 at 6:00 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, December 3 at 5:00 am EST

The Anarchist's Tool Chest #3204 [TV-G]
Chris Schwarz's anarchist's tool chest starts a back-to-basics revolution!

  • KET Wednesday, October 22 at 5:00 am EDT

Forging The Hold Fast #3211 [TV-G]
Blacksmith Peter Ross shows how to forge historical versions of this powerful gripper.

  • KET2 Saturday, October 25 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET2 Monday, October 27 at 6:00 pm EST
  • KET Wednesday, December 10 at 5:00 am EST

Two Screws for You! #3205 [TV-G]
Chris Schwarz joins Roy Underhill to rediscover the enigmatic, wooden, two-screw vise.

  • KET Wednesday, October 29 at 5:00 am EST

The Enfield Cupboard #3212 [TV-G]
Simple to construct and elegant in design, this cupboard is a standby in any room or shop.

  • KET2 Saturday, November 1 at 3:30 pm EST
  • KET2 Monday, November 3 at 6:00 pm EST
  • KET Wednesday, December 17 at 5:00 am EST

Screw Cuttin' Lathe #3206 [TV-G]
Roy uses an 1889 foot-powered lathe to cut perfect threads, cones, and tapers in iron and brass.

  • KET Wednesday, November 5 at 5:00 am EST

The Shaker Bend #3213 [TV-G]
From their furniture to their bentwood boxes, the Shakers may be our most modern artisans.

  • KET2 Saturday, November 8 at 3:30 pm EST
  • KET2 Monday, November 10 at 6:00 pm EST
  • KET Wednesday, December 24 at 5:00 am EST

Taming The Timber Bench #3401 [TV-G]
Your legs will stay tight in this German carpenter's bench built with stopped sliding dovetails.

  • KET2 Saturday, November 15 at 3:30 pm EST
  • KET2 Monday, November 17 at 6:00 pm EST

Pinch Rod and Squeezy Blocks #3402 [TV-G]
This pair of sliding diagonal rods with copper collars will help you get your chests square.

  • KET2 Saturday, November 22 at 3:30 pm EST
  • KET2 Monday, November 24 at 6:00 pm EST

Tapered Tail Tripod Table 1 #3403 [TV-G]
Walnut legs riven from the log begin this table inspired by the 19th century Dominy workshops.

  • KET2 Monday, December 1 at 6:00 pm EST

Tapered Tail Tripod Table 2 #3404 [TV-G]
A walnut burl top and some tricky turning make tapered dovetails for our three-legged table.

  • KET2 Monday, December 8 at 6:00 pm EST

Viceless Devices #3405 [TV-G]
From the holdfast to the birdsmouth, Roy explores wondrous ways to grip the grain.

  • KET2 Monday, December 15 at 6:00 pm EST
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.pbs.org/wws/

Products

BOOK:
   Price available upon request.
   University of North Carolina Press
   (800) 848-6224
   P.O. Box 2288
   Chapel Hill, NC 27515-2288

VIDEO:
   $14.95
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org

More Like This

Close this window