KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.pbs.org/wws/

Details

This series demonstrates traditional furniture making.

TV Schedule

The Anarchist's Tool Chest #3204 [TV-G]
Chris Schwarz's anarchist's tool chest starts a back-to-basics revolution!

  • KET Wednesday, April 22 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, June 15 at 6:00 pm EDT

Screw Cuttin' Lathe #3206 [TV-G]
Roy uses an 1889 foot-powered lathe to cut perfect threads, cones, and tapers in iron and brass.

  • KET2 Saturday, April 25 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, May 6 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, June 29 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Crotch and the Horse #3410 [TV-G]
An old shaving horse from the Virginia mountains showcases the strength of natural shapes in timber.

  • KET2 Monday, April 27 at 6:00 pm EDT

Two Screws for You! #3205 [TV-G]
Chris Schwarz joins Roy Underhill to rediscover the enigmatic, wooden, two-screw vise.

  • KET Wednesday, April 29 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, June 22 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Troublesome Triangle Stool #3207 [TV-G]
Peter Follansbee and Roy Underhill tackle terrible turned tenons for the old triangular stool.

  • KET2 Saturday, May 2 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, May 13 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, July 6 at 6:00 pm EDT

Dovetail Saw #3411 [TV-G]
Tom Calisto makes a brass-backed hand saw perfect for the finest dovetails or the toughest tenons.

  • KET2 Monday, May 4 at 6:00 pm EDT

Wretched Ratchet Reading Rack #3208 [TV-G]
With foot-powered lathes, Peter Follansbee turns this adjustable bookstand from walnut and maple.

  • KET2 Saturday, May 9 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, May 20 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, July 13 at 6:00 pm EDT

Tempered Steel #3412 [TV-G]
Peter Ross shows how to forge, weld and temper tool steel for cutting edges that stay sharp longer.

  • KET2 Monday, May 11 at 6:00 pm EDT

Raising Panel-Zona #3209 [TV-G]
Roy Underhill uses both complex planes and tricks with basic tools to raise the classic panel.

  • KET2 Saturday, May 16 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, May 27 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, July 20 at 6:00 pm EDT

Woodwright - The Musical #3413 [TV-G]
The Underhill Rose band joins Roy in the shop for a musical misadventure.

  • KET2 Monday, May 18 at 6:00 pm EDT

Carving The Camellia #3210 [TV-G]
Woodcarver Mary May makes basswood flowers bloom. Get in the groove of high-relief carving with sharp gouges and good-grained wood!

  • KET2 Saturday, May 23 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, June 3 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, July 27, 2015 at 6:00 pm EDT

Rise of the Machines! #3201 [TV-G]
Roy gets caught up in up a bevy of century-old, foot-powered woodworking machines.

  • KET2 Monday, May 25 at 6:00 pm EDT

Forging The Hold Fast #3211 [TV-G]
Blacksmith Peter Ross shows how to forge historical versions of this powerful gripper.

  • KET2 Saturday, May 30 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, June 10 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, August 3, 2015 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Eleven Grooved Box #3202 [TV-G]
Grooves and splines make a tidy oak box, but can the joints be cut by just using hand tools?

  • KET2 Monday, June 1 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Enfield Cupboard #3212 [TV-G]
Simple to construct and elegant in design, this cupboard is a standby in any room or shop.

  • KET2 Saturday, June 6 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, June 17 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, August 10, 2015 at 6:00 pm EDT

Table Joints Rule! #3203 [TV-G]
You can't make a drop-leaf table without the rule joint. See the tools needed to cut it by hand.

  • KET2 Monday, June 8 at 6:00 pm EDT

The Shaker Bend #3213 [TV-G]
From their furniture to their bentwood boxes, the Shakers may be our most modern artisans.

  • KET2 Saturday, June 13 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, June 24 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KET2 Monday, August 17, 2015 at 6:00 pm EDT

Rachell's Standing Desk #3301 [TV-G]
Give your butt joints a break with the tenons and dovetails that connect this pine standing desk from Pennsylvania.

  • KET2 Saturday, June 20 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 1 at 5:00 am EDT

Rachell's Standing Desk 2 #3302 [TV-G]
The miter-clamped breadboard end makes a broad desktop that always stays flat.

  • KET2 Saturday, June 27 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 8 at 5:00 am EDT

The Venerable Bead #3303 [TV-G]
Roy Underhill demonstrates how to cut bead moldings with hand planes for corners that look sharp and last longer.

  • KET2 Saturday, July 4 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 15 at 5:00 am EDT

Carving Away with Mary May #3304 [TV-G]
Classical carver Mary May provides a lesson on woodcarving and a proper rebuke for edge tool abuse!

  • KET2 Saturday, July 11 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 22 at 5:00 am EDT

Swinging Saw Vise #3305 [TV-G]
Roy duplicates the beveled bridle joints and chamfered chops of an old saw-sharpening vise.

  • KET2 Saturday, July 18 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, July 29, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Sharpen That Saw! #3306 [TV-G]
Using giant model rip and crosscut saws, Roy demonstrates how to correctly sharpen handsaws.

  • KET2 Saturday, July 25 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, August 5, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Combination Planes #3307 [TV-G]
Roy attempts to replace a chest of molding planes with one complex metal contraption.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 1, 2015 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, August 12, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Joined Chest with Peter Follansbee #3308 [TV-G]
The master joiner of Plimoth Plantation shows how to frame a small, mortised, and tenoned chest in the old English style.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 8, 2015 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, August 19, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Paneled Chest with Peter Follansbee #3309 [TV-G]
A master joiner shows Roy how to make and fit the beveled panels and storage till into a framed chest from the Pilgrim era.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 15, 2015 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, August 26, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Early Iron with Peter Ross #3310 [TV-G]
Master blacksmith Peter Ross shows how to forge iron hinges and locks from the earliest days of the American experience.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 22, 2015 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, September 2, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Try Square with Christopher Schwarz #3311 [TV-G]
Chris Schwarz shows Roy how to measure up with an English try square based on the examples in the famous Benjamin Seaton tool chest.

  • KET2 Saturday, August 29, 2015 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, September 9, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Dutch Tool Chest with Christopher Schwarz #3312 [TV-G]
Learn to make the simple and useful Dutch tool chest with its characteristic 30-degree slanted lid.

  • KET2 Saturday, September 5, 2015 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, September 16, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Big Ash Mallet! #3313 [TV-G]
With ash head and hickory handle, Roy shows how to make a proper joiner's mallet for the ages.

  • KET2 Saturday, September 12, 2015 at 3:30 pm EDT
  • KET Wednesday, September 23, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.pbs.org/wws/

Products

BOOK:
   Price available upon request.
   University of North Carolina Press
   (800) 848-6224
   P.O. Box 2288
   Chapel Hill, NC 27515-2288

VIDEO:
   $14.95
   Shop PBS
   (800) 531-4727
   P.O. Box 751089
   Charlotte, NC 28275
   shop@pbs.org

More Like This

Close this window