KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.whyquiltsmatter.org/

Details

This new documentary series focuses on why quilts are bigger than you think, seen through the lenses of history, art, and politics. For the quilter, collector or casual observer, the nine episodes take you behind the scenes and into new territory, exploring the centrality of the quilt in American culture and revealing the unsuspected size, breadth and depth of the quilt culture.

TV Schedule

Empowering Women One Quilt at a Time #107 [TV-G]
The quilt's historical and current roles as an avenue of personal expression, a sly medium of social and political opinion, and a building block of financial security.

  • KETKY Monday, October 20 at 7:00 pm EDT
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 21 at 9:30 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, October 24 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Monday, December 22 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, December 23 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, December 26 at 6:00 am EST

Quilt Nation : 20,000,000 and Counting! #108 [TV-G]
Go inside this unseen quilt world, meeting its participants; attending its events; and analyzing its businesses, periodicals, support services, and technological advancements.

  • KETKY Monday, October 27 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, October 28 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, October 31 at 6:00 am EST
  • KETKY Monday, December 29 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, December 30 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, January 2 at 6:00 am EST

Quilt Scholarship: Romance and Reality #109 [TV-G]
The history of quilt scholarship in America is more relevant-and far more interesting-than some might think. Today, the field has grown into a serious discipline generating material of interest - not just to the quilt world - but to a dozen other important disciplines from material culture to sociology.

  • KETKY Monday, November 3 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, November 4 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, November 7 at 6:00 am EST
  • KETKY Monday, January 5 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, January 6 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, January 9 at 6:00 am EST

Quilts 101 - Antique and Contemporary Quilts #101 [TV-G]
Learn what makes an antique quilt more valuable and why contemporary quilts are judged differently.

  • KETKY Monday, November 10 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, November 11 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, November 14 at 6:00 am EST

Quilts Bring History Alive #102 [TV-G]
Explore the quilt's unique ability to preserve our own family histories and the history of America.

  • KETKY Monday, November 17 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, November 18 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, November 21 at 6:00 am EST

The Quilt Marketplace #103 [TV-G]
Go behind the scenes in the quilt marketplace to meet its players and learn its unwritten rules.

  • KETKY Monday, November 24 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, November 25 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, November 28 at 6:00 am EST

What Is Art? #104 [TV-G]
Host Shelly Zegart and crew explores "what is art?" and sheds light on the art vs. craft debate.

  • KETKY Monday, December 1 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, December 2 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, December 5 at 6:00 am EST

Gee's Bend: The Most Famous Quilts In America? #105 [TV-G]
The journey of the quilts of Gees Bend from the clotheslines of the South to the exhibition walls of the country's greatest museums. Shelly explores the aesthetic and social appeal of these quilts - and quilters - as well as the controversies they engendered, and analyzes their unique place in quilt history.

  • KETKY Monday, December 8 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, December 9 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, December 12 at 6:00 am EST

How Quilts Have Been Viewed and Collected #106 [TV-G]
Charts path of an exemplary quilt from maker to museum and explores the lure of quilts for a private collector.

  • KETKY Monday, December 15 at 7:00 pm EST
  • KETKY Tuesday, December 16 at 9:30 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, December 19 at 6:00 am EST
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.whyquiltsmatter.org/

More Like This

Close this window