KET »

Series Information

Web site: http://www.whyquiltsmatter.org/

Details

This new documentary series focuses on why quilts are bigger than you think, seen through the lenses of history, art, and politics. For the quilter, collector or casual observer, the nine episodes take you behind the scenes and into new territory, exploring the centrality of the quilt in American culture and revealing the unsuspected size, breadth and depth of the quilt culture.

TV Schedule

Quilts Bring History Alive #102 [TV-G]
Explore the quilt's unique ability to preserve our own family histories and the history of America.

  • KETKY Friday, March 27 at 6:00 am EST
  • KETKY Saturday, March 28 at 5:00 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, May 29 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 30 at 5:00 am EDT

The Quilt Marketplace #103 [TV-G]
Go behind the scenes in the quilt marketplace to meet its players and learn its unwritten rules.

  • KETKY Friday, April 3 at 6:00 am EST
  • KETKY Saturday, April 4 at 5:00 am EST
  • KETKY Friday, June 5 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 6 at 5:00 am EDT

What Is Art? #104 [TV-G]
Host Shelly Zegart and crew explores "what is art?" and sheds light on the art vs. craft debate.

  • KETKY Friday, April 10 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, April 11 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, June 12 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 13 at 5:00 am EDT

Gee's Bend: The Most Famous Quilts In America? #105 [TV-G]
The journey of the quilts of Gees Bend from the clotheslines of the South to the exhibition walls of the country's greatest museums. Shelly explores the aesthetic and social appeal of these quilts - and quilters - as well as the controversies they engendered, and analyzes their unique place in quilt history.

  • KETKY Friday, April 17 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, April 18 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, June 19 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 20 at 5:00 am EDT

How Quilts Have Been Viewed and Collected #106 [TV-G]
Charts path of an exemplary quilt from maker to museum and explores the lure of quilts for a private collector.

  • KETKY Friday, April 24 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, April 25 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, June 26 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, June 27 at 5:00 am EDT

Empowering Women One Quilt at a Time #107 [TV-G]
The quilt's historical and current roles as an avenue of personal expression, a sly medium of social and political opinion, and a building block of financial security.

  • KETKY Friday, May 1 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 2 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, July 3, 2015 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, July 4, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Quilt Nation : 20,000,000 and Counting! #108 [TV-G]
Go inside this unseen quilt world, meeting its participants; attending its events; and analyzing its businesses, periodicals, support services, and technological advancements.

  • KETKY Friday, May 8 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 9 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, July 10, 2015 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, July 11, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Quilt Scholarship: Romance and Reality #109 [TV-G]
The history of quilt scholarship in America is more relevant-and far more interesting-than some might think. Today, the field has grown into a serious discipline generating material of interest - not just to the quilt world - but to a dozen other important disciplines from material culture to sociology.

  • KETKY Friday, May 15 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 16 at 5:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Friday, July 17, 2015 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, July 18, 2015 at 5:00 am EDT

Quilts 101 - Antique and Contemporary Quilts #101 [TV-G]
Learn what makes an antique quilt more valuable and why contemporary quilts are judged differently.

  • KETKY Friday, May 22 at 6:00 am EDT
  • KETKY Saturday, May 23 at 5:00 am EDT
List all episodes

Links

Official web site: http://www.whyquiltsmatter.org/

More Like This

Close this window