Skip Navigation

Child Care Training

Levels and Standards

The level and standard correlations for each KET child care training program or series are designed to help you find the training that best meets your needs. Following are explanations of the codes you’ll see assigned to each offering:

Levels of Training
Kentucky Core Content
CEU Credit
CDA Goals/Subject Areas

Kentucky Early Childhood Standards - « 2.2MB PDF Download

Revised Professional Development Framework - « 1MB PDF Download

Levels of Training

Each KET child care training program or series is assigned to one of five levels of training. Level 1 is a basic introduction to a subject, and Level 5 represents the most advanced information.

Selecting a level is an individual decision based on your existing knowledge of a topic. If you already know a lot about a subject, a Level 1 or 2 training program might not help you learn anything new. On the other hand, if you have very little knowledge of the subject, you may find it hard to understand the content of a high-level course.

^ Top

Kentucky Core Content

These abbreviations represent subject areas defined in the state P-12 curriculum standards from the Kentucky Department of Education.

CGD: Child Growth and Development
HSN: Health, Safety, and Nutrition
PD: Professional Development
LEC: Learning Environments and Curriculum
CA: Child Assessment
FCP: Family and Community Partnerships
PME: Program Management and Evaluation

^ Top

CEU Credit

If the CEU box is marked “Yes,” then providers may use that program or series to earn CEU credits toward CDA renewal.

The CEU credits are offered through Bluegrass Community and Technical College, and BCTC will issue the certificates. An additional fee of $5.00 per person is required along with the regular registration fee.

CEU credits are issued to individuals by name. In order to issue a CEU credit certificate, BCTC must have the person’s name, home/personal address, and phone number. The registration form has a section for writing in this information for the individual participants requesting these credits.

^ Top

CDA Goals/Subject Areas

The CDA (Child Development Associate) is a certification issued by the Council for Professional Recognition indicating that a child care provider has met professional standards in a specified set of subject areas. The CDA standards identify 13 subject areas, grouped under six main goals:

Goal I: To establish and maintain a safe, healthy learning environment.1. Safe
2. Healthy
3. Learning Environment
Goal II: To advance physical and intellectual competence. 4. Physical
5. Cognitive
6. Communication
7. Creative
Goal III: To support social and emotional development and to provide positive guidance. 8. Self
9. Social
10. Guidance
Goal IV: To establish positive and productive relationships with families. 11. Families
Goal V: To ensure a well-run, purposeful program responsive to participant needs. 12. Program Management
Goal VI: To maintain a commitment to professionalism. 13. Professionalism

Visit the Council for Professional Recognition web site to learn more about how to pursue CDA certification.

^ Top

More Information

For more information about KET child care training, contact Susan Hines-Bricker at (800) 432-0951, ext. 7278; (859) 258-7278; or .

600 Cooper Drive, Lexington, KY 40502 (859) 258-7000 (800) 432-0951