Headwaters: Real Stories from Rural America

His Eye Is on the Sparrow/Girls' Hoops

56:40 | #204 | TV-G

His Eye Is on the Sparrow profiles Ethel Caffie-Austin, a daughter of the coalfields and West Virginia's "First Lady of Gospel Music." Girls' Hoops explores the history of girls' high school basketball in Kentucky, including its first heyday in the 1920s; the subsequent 42-year ban on statewide competition; its rebirth in the 1970s; and its development into the fiercely competitive, popular sport it has become today.

Series Website

www.appalshop.org

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Tuesday, September 17, 2019 at 12:00 AM ET / Monday, September 16, 2019 at 11:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: May 18, 2019 at 10:00 AM ET / May 18, 2019 at 9:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 16, 2019 at 7:00 AM ET / May 16, 2019 at 6:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 15, 2019 at 2:00 AM ET / May 15, 2019 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 14, 2019 at 11:00 PM ET / May 14, 2019 at 10:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: May 12, 2019 at 12:00 PM ET / May 12, 2019 at 11:00 AM CT
First Aired: June 23, 2003