Headwaters: Real Stories from Rural America

Stranger with a Camera

57:35 | #209 | TV-G

In 1967, Canadian filmmaker Hugh O'Connor visited the mountains of central Appalachia to document poverty. A local landlord who resented the presence of filmmakers on his property shot and killed O'Connor, in part because of his anger over the media images of Appalachia that had become icons in the nation's War on Poverty. Filmmaker Elizabeth Barret, a native of Appalachia, uses O'Connor's death as a lens to explore the complex relationship between those who make films to promote social change and the people whose lives are represented in such media productions.

Series Website

www.appalshop.org

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Saturday, January 19, 2019 at 10:00 AM ET / Saturday, January 19, 2019 at 9:00 AM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: January 17, 2019 at 7:00 AM ET / January 17, 2019 at 6:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: January 16, 2019 at 2:00 AM ET / January 16, 2019 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: January 15, 2019 at 11:00 PM ET / January 15, 2019 at 10:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: January 13, 2019 at 12:00 PM ET / January 13, 2019 at 11:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: January 13, 2019 at 12:00 AM ET / January 12, 2019 at 11:00 PM CT
First Aired: July 28, 2003