Appalshop @ 40: Classics from the Collection

Coalmining Women/In Ya Blood

56:40 | #103 | TV-G

Interviewed at home and on the job, women coal miners tell of the conditions that led them to seek employment in this traditionally male-dominated industry and the problems they encountered once hired. And, the story of a typical young man from Appalachia in the summer after his senior year in high school. He must face the difficult decision faced by many Appalachian youth - whether to stay in the mountains or leave in search of a "better life."

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 6:00 AM ET / Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 5:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 2:30 PM ET / Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 1:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 11:00 PM ET / Thursday, July 4, 2019 at 10:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: April 19, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / April 19, 2019 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: April 19, 2019 at 9:00 AM ET / April 19, 2019 at 8:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 14, 2019 at 4:00 AM ET / April 14, 2019 at 3:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: February 1, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / February 1, 2019 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: February 1, 2019 at 9:00 AM ET / February 1, 2019 at 8:00 AM CT
First Aired: January 20, 2011