Appalshop @ 40: Classics from the Collection

Hand Carved

56:40 | #104 | TV-G

Chester Cornett made chairs for Presidents and his work is displayed in museums across the country. In this film, Chester fells a tree on the site of his family's homeplace on the top of Pine Mountain in southeastern Kentucky and transports it back to his small apartment and workshop in inner-city Cincinnati. He uses simple hand tools to chop, whittle, and carve the wood into an exquisite, eight-legged, "two-in-one" rocker.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 6:00 AM ET / Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 5:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 2:30 PM ET / Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 1:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 11:00 PM ET / Thursday, July 11, 2019 at 10:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: April 26, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / April 26, 2019 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: April 26, 2019 at 9:00 AM ET / April 26, 2019 at 8:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 21, 2019 at 4:00 AM ET / April 21, 2019 at 3:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: February 8, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / February 8, 2019 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: February 3, 2019 at 4:00 AM ET / February 3, 2019 at 3:00 AM CT
First Aired: January 27, 2011