Appalshop @ 40: Classics from the Collection

Buffalo Creek: An Act of God/Buffalo Creek Revisited

56:42 | #105 | TV-G

On February 26, 1972, a coal-waste dam owned by the Pittston Company collapsed at the head of a crowded hollow in southern West Virginia. The disaster left 125 dead and 4,000 homeless. Interviews with survivors, representatives of union and citizen's groups, and officials of the Pittston Company are juxtaposed with actual footage of the flood. Filmed ten years after the Flood, Buffalo Creek Revisited looks at the second disaster, in which the survivors' efforts to rebuild the communities are thwarted by government insensitivity and a century-old pattern of corporate control of the region's land and resources.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 6:00 AM ET / Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 5:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 2:30 PM ET / Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 1:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 11:00 PM ET / Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 10:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: May 3, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / May 3, 2019 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: May 3, 2019 at 9:00 AM ET / May 3, 2019 at 8:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 28, 2019 at 4:00 AM ET / April 28, 2019 at 3:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: February 15, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / February 15, 2019 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: February 15, 2019 at 9:44 AM ET / February 15, 2019 at 8:44 AM CT
First Aired: February 3, 2011