Appalshop @ 40: Classics from the Collection

Loading the player...

Sourwood Mountain Dulcimers/John Jacob Niles

34:40 | #110 | TV-G

I.D. Stamper, a master dulcimer builder and player from Letcher County, Ky., and John McCutcheon, a young musician, play together, swap tunes, discuss musical traditions, and demonstrate the difference between hammered and mountain-style dulcimer. And, a portrait of John Jacob Niles, the adding machine repairman who came to eastern Kentucky in 1909 and became a much-noted "arranger, expander, collector, recorder, and performer" of traditional Appalachian ballads. The film shows Niles in concert, at home, at work arranging his music, and explaining the historical place of balladry in American music.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 6:00 AM ET / Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 5:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 2:30 PM ET / Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 1:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 11:00 PM ET / Thursday, August 22, 2019 at 10:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: June 6, 2019 at 11:00 PM ET / June 6, 2019 at 10:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: June 6, 2019 at 2:52 PM ET / June 6, 2019 at 1:52 PM CT
  • KETKY: June 6, 2019 at 2:30 PM ET / June 6, 2019 at 1:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: June 6, 2019 at 6:00 AM ET / June 6, 2019 at 5:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: March 22, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / March 22, 2019 at 7:00 PM CT
First Aired: March 10, 2011