Appalshop @ 40: Classics from the Collection

Hand Carved

17:40 | #104 | TV-G

Chester Cornett made chairs for Presidents and his work is displayed in museums across the country. In this film, Chester fells a tree on the site of his family's homeplace on the top of Pine Mountain in southeastern Kentucky and transports it back to his small apartment and workshop in inner-city Cincinnati. He uses simple hand tools to chop, whittle, and carve the wood into an exquisite, eight-legged, "two-in-one" rocker.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Sunday, April 1, 2018 at 3:00 AM ET / Sunday, April 1, 2018 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Monday, April 2, 2018 at 10:00 PM ET / Monday, April 2, 2018 at 9:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, April 6, 2018 at 8:00 AM ET / Friday, April 6, 2018 at 7:00 AM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: January 19, 2018 at 9:39 AM ET / January 19, 2018 at 8:39 AM CT
  • KETKY: January 16, 2018 at 11:00 PM ET / January 16, 2018 at 10:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: January 14, 2018 at 4:00 AM ET / January 14, 2018 at 3:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: November 3, 2017 at 9:00 AM ET / November 3, 2017 at 8:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: October 30, 2017 at 11:00 PM ET / October 30, 2017 at 10:00 PM CT
First Aired: January 27, 2011