bookclub@ket

Modern Medea: A Family Story of Slavery and Child-Murder from the Old South

26:30 | #501

Host Bill Goodman and a regular panel of readers discuss Steven Weisenburger's biography of Margaret Garner, a runaway slave mother who murdered her child rather than have her returned to servitude. The story was the real-life inspiration for Toni Morrison's Beloved. A KET production.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 2:00 AM ET / Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 10:30 AM ET / Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 9:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 7:00 PM ET / Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 6:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: February 8, 2018 at 6:30 PM ET / February 8, 2018 at 5:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: February 7, 2018 at 1:30 PM ET / February 7, 2018 at 12:30 PM CT
  • KET2: February 4, 2018 at 11:30 PM ET / February 4, 2018 at 10:30 PM CT
  • KET2: February 4, 2018 at 6:30 AM ET / February 4, 2018 at 5:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: July 7, 2016 at 6:30 PM ET / July 7, 2016 at 5:30 PM CT
First Aired: January 7, 2003