The Breaks: Centuries of Struggle

Loading the player...

56:45 | #0 | TV-G

The 19th century witnessed the Breaks Canyon ('Grand Canyon of the South') become a coveted area for settlers, moonshiners, railroaders, and lumberjacks. As resource exploitation grew, a citizen-led preservation movement emerged and would rescue the Breaks from becoming just another lost Appalachian treasure. This documentary, narrated by Mike Rowe (Deadliest Catch and Dirty Jobs) looks at the past, present, and future of the Breaks as it continues to be under threat today.

Series Website

http://thebreaksfilm.com

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Saturday, January 26, 2019 at 8:00 PM ET / Saturday, January 26, 2019 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 3:00 PM ET / Sunday, February 10, 2019 at 2:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Saturday, February 16, 2019 at 5:00 PM ET / Saturday, February 16, 2019 at 4:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Saturday, March 2, 2019 at 2:00 PM ET / Saturday, March 2, 2019 at 1:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: January 11, 2019 at 3:00 PM ET / January 11, 2019 at 2:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: January 1, 2019 at 10:00 PM ET / January 1, 2019 at 9:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: December 11, 2018 at 9:00 PM ET / December 11, 2018 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: December 7, 2018 at 10:00 AM ET / December 7, 2018 at 9:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: December 1, 2018 at 4:00 PM ET / December 1, 2018 at 3:00 PM CT
First Aired: April 9, 2018