Crafting Tradition

Loading the player...

57:40 | #0

Pioneer families made baskets, fishing nets, quilts, brooms, and furniture by hand, from whatever materials were available, because they had to. Today, these same items are mass-produced and readily available, but the hand-made versions persist for very different reasons. This 1993 KET documentary visits members of five Western Kentucky families to discover how they are preserving the tradition of hand-crafting these household items—and why they believe it is important to maintain this link to the past.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Friday, November 24, 2017 at 2:00 AM ET / Friday, November 24, 2017 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Wednesday, December 27, 2017 at 10:00 AM ET / Wednesday, December 27, 2017 at 9:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Sunday, December 31, 2017 at 5:00 PM ET / Sunday, December 31, 2017 at 4:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: November 1, 2017 at 2:00 AM ET / November 1, 2017 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: August 13, 2017 at 3:00 PM ET / August 13, 2017 at 2:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: June 24, 2017 at 4:00 PM ET / June 24, 2017 at 3:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: June 19, 2017 at 9:00 PM ET / June 19, 2017 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: June 19, 2017 at 4:00 PM ET / June 19, 2017 at 3:00 PM CT
First Aired: November 5, 2002