Education Matters

Loading the player...

Implications of Year-Round High School Athletics

57:06 | #306

This program explores the impact of year-round sports on students, families, coaches, and schools. Panelists explain the new interpretation of the Kentucky High School Athletic Association's Bylaw 25, which gives school officials the responsibility of deciding whether school coaches can work with athletes during the off-season. The panelists also discuss possible ramifications. Panelists are: Julian Tackett, commissioner, Kentucky High School Athletic Association; Dr. Bobby Barton, professor and former head trainer, Eastern Kentucky University; Owens Saylor, deputy superintendent, Jessamine County Public Schools; and Lea Wise Prewitt, KHSAA Board of Control, former coach, former college basketball player.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: May 11, 2012 at 3:00 AM ET / May 11, 2012 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 4, 2012 at 3:00 AM ET / May 4, 2012 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 16, 2012 at 3:00 AM ET / April 16, 2012 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 6, 2012 at 3:00 AM ET / April 6, 2012 at 2:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: March 26, 2012 at 5:00 PM ET / March 26, 2012 at 4:00 PM CT
First Aired: March 20, 2012