Kentucky Life

Loading the player...

Eighth of August

26:40 | #1909

Experience the history and excitement of the Eighth of August weekend. Every year, African-Americans in parts of Western Kentucky and central Tennessee gather to celebrate Emancipation, a homecoming tradition begun in 1868.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: September 11, 2018 at 5:30 PM ET / September 11, 2018 at 4:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: August 4, 2018 at 8:30 AM ET / August 4, 2018 at 7:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: August 3, 2018 at 2:30 PM ET / August 3, 2018 at 1:30 PM CT
  • KET2: August 3, 2018 at 1:30 PM ET / August 3, 2018 at 12:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: August 1, 2018 at 8:00 AM ET / August 1, 2018 at 7:00 AM CT
First Aired: February 1, 2014