Kentucky Life

Loading the player...

Derby-Themed Program

26:40 | #2016

In the years following the Civil War, African American jockeys dominated horseracing and won 15 of the first 28 runnings of the Kentucky Derby; the unsung heroes of the racetrack are the track ponies; created over 50 years ago as the specialty pastry of the Melrose Inn, the chocolate-nut pie from Kern's Kitchen is the official Derby Pie; and women's eye-catching hats are a Derby tradition.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Friday, October 19, 2018 at 5:30 PM ET / Friday, October 19, 2018 at 4:30 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: June 20, 2018 at 5:30 PM ET / June 20, 2018 at 4:30 PM CT
  • KET2: October 13, 2015 at 7:30 AM ET / October 13, 2015 at 6:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 9, 2015 at 8:30 AM ET / May 9, 2015 at 7:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 8, 2015 at 12:30 PM ET / May 8, 2015 at 11:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: May 6, 2015 at 8:00 AM ET / May 6, 2015 at 7:00 AM CT
First Aired: May 2, 2015