Kentucky Tonight

Loading the player...

K-12 Public Education

56:30 | #2632

Renee Shaw and guests discuss K-through-12 public education. Does Kentucky have a teacher shortage? If so, why? What can be done to close the achievement gap and turn around low-performing schools? Scheduled guests: Commissioner Wayne Lewis of the Kentucky Department of Education; Allison Slone, Rowan County schools' special education teacher and founder of KYREADS, which provides professional instruction to teachers about students with dyslexia; Gary Houchens, Ph.D., member of the Kentucky Board of Education and an associate professor in the Department of Educational Administration, Leadership, and Research at Western Kentucky University; and Houston Barber, Ph.D., Superintendent for Frankfort Independent Schools.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: September 11, 2019 at 6:00 PM ET / September 11, 2019 at 5:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: September 11, 2019 at 9:30 AM ET / September 11, 2019 at 8:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: September 11, 2019 at 1:00 AM ET / September 11, 2019 at 12:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: September 10, 2019 at 11:00 PM ET / September 10, 2019 at 10:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: September 10, 2019 at 2:30 PM ET / September 10, 2019 at 1:30 PM CT
First Aired: September 9, 2019