Lexington in the 40s: Swingin' in the Bluegrass

58:30 | #0 | TV-G

Central Kentuckians recall the big band music scene in the Bluegrass during the World War II era, when Lexingtonians danced in clubs like Joyland, the Green Dome, and the Cotton Club and in the ballrooms of the Phoenix and Lafayette hotels. Archival photographs and film footage, some not seen since the 1940s, illustrate the memories of those places and times.

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 4:00 AM ET / Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 3:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 12:30 PM ET / Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 11:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 9:00 PM ET / Tuesday, July 16, 2019 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, July 19, 2019 at 12:00 AM ET / Thursday, July 18, 2019 at 11:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, July 19, 2019 at 8:30 AM ET / Friday, July 19, 2019 at 7:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, July 19, 2019 at 5:00 PM ET / Friday, July 19, 2019 at 4:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: April 29, 2019 at 4:00 AM ET / April 29, 2019 at 3:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 14, 2019 at 4:00 PM ET / April 14, 2019 at 3:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: January 29, 2019 at 12:44 PM ET / January 29, 2019 at 11:44 AM CT
  • KETKY: January 29, 2019 at 12:00 PM ET / January 29, 2019 at 11:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: October 7, 2018 at 3:00 PM ET / October 7, 2018 at 2:00 PM CT
First Aired: December 4, 2003