Mourning the Creation of Racial Categories

Let Our Loss Be Heard

56:40 | #102

This episode explores the lives of Margaret and Robert Garner, an enslaved couple who in 1856 ran from Kentucky toward freedom into Ohio with their four children all under six years of age. The documentary highlights the children's complexion and ancestry to show how family/biological relationships were severed and rearranged to comply with the concept of race.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: April 23, 2019 at 9:00 PM ET / April 23, 2019 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: April 20, 2019 at 4:00 PM ET / April 20, 2019 at 3:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: April 13, 2019 at 11:00 AM ET / April 13, 2019 at 10:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: April 10, 2019 at 7:00 AM ET / April 10, 2019 at 6:00 AM CT
First Aired: April 10, 2019