Kentucky Muse

Loading the player...

Ellis Wilson—So Much to Paint

57:06 | #105

Follows the career of Kentucky native Ellis Wilson (1899-1977), an African-American artist whose passion for painting took him from his hometown of Mayfield to a successful career in New York. His work captured the daily lives of African Americans and helped open doors for many younger black artists. This update of a 2000 KET documentary includes a look at Ellis Wilson works discovered since the program's premiere.

Series Website

http://www.ket.org/muse/

Upcoming Airdates

  • KETKY: Monday, August 5, 2019 at 4:00 AM ET / Monday, August 5, 2019 at 3:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Monday, August 5, 2019 at 12:30 PM ET / Monday, August 5, 2019 at 11:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: Monday, August 5, 2019 at 9:00 PM ET / Monday, August 5, 2019 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, August 9, 2019 at 2:00 AM ET / Friday, August 9, 2019 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, August 9, 2019 at 10:30 AM ET / Friday, August 9, 2019 at 9:30 AM CT
  • KETKY: Friday, August 9, 2019 at 7:00 PM ET / Friday, August 9, 2019 at 6:00 PM CT

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: April 1, 2019 at 7:00 AM ET / April 1, 2019 at 6:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: March 30, 2019 at 1:00 AM ET / March 30, 2019 at 12:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: March 29, 2019 at 7:00 PM ET / March 29, 2019 at 6:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: March 28, 2019 at 2:00 AM ET / March 28, 2019 at 1:00 AM CT
  • KETKY: January 27, 2018 at 12:00 PM ET / January 27, 2018 at 11:00 AM CT
First Aired: February 17, 2008