The Spirituals

26:39 | #0 | TV-PG

Slaves created the spiritual, a musical form built on African roots and biblical texts, for deliverance and for communication. The American Spiritual Ensemble, founded by University of Kentucky professor Everett McCorvey, honors the painful history of this American art form while introducing its message of hope to contemporary audiences around the world. Produced by Eren McGinnis and Ari Palos with support from the KET Fund for Independent Production.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KETKY: May 13, 2019 at 3:00 PM ET / May 13, 2019 at 2:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: February 14, 2019 at 10:30 PM ET / February 14, 2019 at 9:30 PM CT
  • KETKY: August 22, 2018 at 9:00 PM ET / August 22, 2018 at 8:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: June 2, 2018 at 8:00 PM ET / June 2, 2018 at 7:00 PM CT
  • KETKY: May 26, 2018 at 7:00 PM ET / May 26, 2018 at 6:00 PM CT
First Aired: February 21, 2007