Nova

Apollo's Daring Mission

56:46 | #4518 | TV-PG

Apollo astronauts and engineers tell the inside story of Apollo 8, the first manned mission to the moon. The U.S. space program suffered a bitter setback when Apollo 1 ended in a deadly fire during a pre-launch run-through. In disarray, and threatened by the prospect of a Soviet Union victory in the space race, NASA decided upon a radical and risky change of plan: turn Apollo 8 from an earth-orbit mission into a daring sprint to the moon while relying on untried new technologies.

Upcoming Airdates

No upcoming episodes scheduled.

Recent Airdates

  • KET2: July 21, 2019 at 7:00 PM ET / July 21, 2019 at 6:00 PM CT
  • KET2: July 21, 2019 at 1:00 AM ET / July 21, 2019 at 12:00 AM CT
  • KET2: July 19, 2019 at 4:30 AM ET / July 19, 2019 at 3:30 AM CT
  • KET2: July 18, 2019 at 5:00 AM ET / July 18, 2019 at 4:00 AM CT
  • KET2: July 17, 2019 at 2:00 AM ET / July 17, 2019 at 1:00 AM CT
First Aired: December 26, 2018