Skip to Main Content

FDR's Pearl Harbor Speech

FDR's Pearl Harbor Speech

Video Information

FDR's Pearl Harbor Speech

It's one of the most famous speeches in American history, though it's safe to say most Americans remember only that phrase. But on this seventy-fifth anniversary of the attack, it's worth asking: What makes it so famous?
Length 01:10 Premiere: 12.6.16

Program Details

American Experience

About American Experience

American Experience, TV's most-watched history series, brings to life the compelling stories from our past that inform our understanding of the world today.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Mr. Tornado: American Experience

Meet pioneering meteorologist Ted Fujita, who transformed our understanding of tornados. His technological advancements saved lives and helped Americans prepare for and respond to dangerous weather phenomena.

  • Thursday May 28, 2020 10:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Thursday May 28, 2020 9:00 pm CT on KET2

Chasing the Moon: Part Two: Earthrise - S31 E4

Discover what it took to beat the Soviet Union to the moon in the space race. In the turbulent and troubled '60s, the U.S. space program faced tragedy with Apollo 1, but made a triumphant comeback with Apollo 8.

  • Sunday May 31, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 31, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2

Chasing the Moon: Part Three: Magnificent Desolation - S31 E5

Experience the triumph of the first moon landing, witnessed by the largest TV audience in history. But dreams of space dramatically intersect with dreams of democracy, raising questions of national priorities and national identity.

  • Sunday June 7, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday June 7, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2

Stonewall Uprising - S23 E9

When gay bar Stonewall Inn was raided in 1969, gay men and women did something they had not done before: they fought back. As told by those present, the streets of New York erupted into violent protests and demonstrations, announcing that the gay rights movement had arrived.

  • Tuesday June 9, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday June 9, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Wednesday June 10, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday June 10, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET2
  • Thursday June 11, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday June 11, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday June 13, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday June 13, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Sunday June 14, 2020 12:30 am ET on KET
  • Saturday June 13, 2020 11:30 pm CT on KET
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

The Polio Crusade - S21 E2

  • Wednesday May 27, 2020 2:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday May 27, 2020 1:00 pm CT on KET

Chasing the Moon: Part One: A Place Beyond the Sky - S31 E3

  • Sunday May 24, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 24, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KET2

Mr. Tornado: American Experience

  • Sunday May 24, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 24, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET2
  • Saturday May 23, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Saturday May 23, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Friday May 22, 2020 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Friday May 22, 2020 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Thursday May 21, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday May 21, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday May 21, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday May 21, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday May 20, 2020 12:00 am ET on KET2
  • Tuesday May 19, 2020 11:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday May 19, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 19, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

The Chinese Exclusion Act - S29 E9

  • Tuesday May 12, 2020 3:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 12, 2020 2:00 pm CT on KET

George W. Bush - Part Two

  • Monday May 11, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday May 11, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Thursday May 7, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday May 7, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday May 7, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday May 7, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday May 6, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday May 6, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET2
  • Tuesday May 5, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 5, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

Surviving the Dust Bowl - S10 E8

  • Tuesday May 5, 2020 4:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 5, 2020 3:00 pm CT on KET

Part One

  • Monday May 11, 2020 7:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Monday May 11, 2020 6:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Wednesday May 6, 2020 3:00 am ET on KET2
  • Wednesday May 6, 2020 2:00 am CT on KET2
  • Tuesday May 5, 2020 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 5, 2020 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday May 5, 2020 1:00 am ET on KET2
  • Tuesday May 5, 2020 12:00 am CT on KET2
  • Monday May 4, 2020 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday May 4, 2020 8:00 pm CT on KET

Feud: American Experience - S32 E1

  • Tuesday April 28, 2020 4:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday April 28, 2020 3:00 pm CT on KET

The Man Who Tried to Feed the World: American Experience

  • Monday April 27, 2020 2:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday April 27, 2020 1:00 pm CT on KET
Top

Season

Mr. Tornado

S32 E8 Length 52:50 Premiere Date 5.19.20

George W. Bush, Part 2

S32 E5 Length 1:53:20 Premiere Date 5.5.20

George W. Bush, Part 1

S32 E4 Length 1:52:03 Premiere Date 5.4.20

The Man Who Tried to Feed the World

S32 E3 Length 52:27 Premiere Date 4.21.20

The Poison Squad

S32 E2 Length 1:51:03 Premiere Date 1.28.20

McCarthy

S32 E1 Length 1:52:53 Premiere Date 1.6.20

Explore KET