Skip to Main Content

Part 1 |Taken Hostage | American Experience

Revisit the 1979 Iran hostage crisis, when 52 Americans were held hostage in Tehran, through stories of those whose ordeal riveted the world.
Season 34 Episode 5 Length 1:52:24 Premiere: 11/14/22

Sponsored by:

Comment on Kentucky logo and a "Check Schedule" button.A close-up of Comment on Kentucky host Bill Bryant smiling in a dark suit and purple tie against an image of Kentucky's capitol building. with a "Check Schedule" button.

Season 34 Episodes

Part 2 |Taken Hostage | American Experience

S34 E6 Length 1:51:34 Premiere Date 11/15/22

Part 1 |Taken Hostage | American Experience

S34 E5 Length 1:52:24 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Plague at the Golden Gate

S34 E4 Length 1:52:39 Premiere Date 05/24/22

Flood in the Desert

S34 E3 Length 52:45 Premiere Date 05/03/22

The American Diplomat

S34 E2 Length 52:43 Premiere Date 02/15/22

Riveted: The History of Jeans

S34 E1 Length 52:39 Premiere Date 02/07/22

Trailer | Taken Hostage

Preview Length 03:14 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Snapshot: America in the 1970s

Clip Length 02:06 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Operation Ajax

Clip Length 06:08 Premiere Date 11/14/22

The Shah

Clip Length 01:00 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Hilary Brown

Clip Length 00:48 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Barry Rosen

Clip Length 00:46 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Jimmy Carter

Clip Length 00:58 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Who's Who

Clip Length 01:03 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Title Sequence

Clip Length 01:07 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Ways A Rescue Mission Can Go Wrong

Clip Length 03:40 Premiere Date 11/14/22

The event that held the news hostage

Clip Length 03:55 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Chapter 1 | Taken Hostage, Part 1

Preview Length 10:07 Premiere Date 11/14/22

Chapter 1 | Taken Hostage, Part 2

Preview Length 10:34 Premiere Date 11/15/22

See All Episodes

caret down

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Billy Graham

Premiered On: 05/17/2021

Explore the life of one of the best-known and most influential Christian leaders of the 20th century. An international celebrity by age 30, he built a media empire, preached to millions worldwide and had the ear of tycoons, presidents and royalty.

  • Friday December 9, 2022 8:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Friday December 9, 2022 7:00 pm CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday December 10, 2022 1:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday December 10, 2022 12:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday December 10, 2022 9:00 am ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday December 10, 2022 8:00 am CT on KETWORLD
  • Saturday December 10, 2022 3:00 pm ET on KETWORLD
  • Saturday December 10, 2022 2:00 pm CT on KETWORLD

Test Tube Babies

Premiered On: 10/23/2006

The world's first successful in-vitro fertilization takes place in Great Britain resulting in a live birth on July 25, 1978.

  • Wednesday December 14, 2022 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday December 14, 2022 9:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday December 16, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Friday December 16, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET

The Man Who Tried to Feed the World: American Experience

Premiered On: 04/21/2020

Explore the life of 1970 Nobel Peace Prize winner Norman Borlaug, who tried to solve world hunger. He rescued India from severe famine and led the "Green Revolution," but his work later faced criticism.

  • Wednesday December 21, 2022 10:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday December 21, 2022 9:00 pm CT on KET
  • Friday December 23, 2022 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Friday December 23, 2022 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Friday December 23, 2022 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Friday December 23, 2022 11:00 am CT on KET

Lie Detector

Discover the story of the polygraph, the controversial device that transformed modern police work.

  • Tuesday January 3, 2023 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday January 3, 2023 8:00 pm CT on KET
  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Wednesday January 4, 2023 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday January 5, 2023 2:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday January 5, 2023 1:00 am CT on KET

Recent

No recent airdates

Top

Explore KET