Skip to Main Content

The Big Burn

The Big Burn

In the summer of 1910, hundreds of wildfires raged across the Northern Rockies. By the time it was all over, more than three million acres had burned and at least 78 firefighters were dead. It was the largest fire in American history.
S27 E4 Length 52:12 Premiere: 2.3.15

Program Details

American Experience

About American Experience

American Experience, TV's most-watched history series, brings to life the compelling stories from our past that inform our understanding of the world today.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Goin' Back to T-Town

The program profiles the Greenwood neighborhood of Tulsa, Oklahoma - once a flourishing Black community during the 1920s and 30s despite rampant and hostile segregation.

  • Thursday September 30, 2021 4:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday September 30, 2021 3:00 am CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Chasing the Moon: Part Three: Magnificent Desolation - S31 E5

  • Thursday September 16, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday September 16, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday September 15, 2021 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday September 15, 2021 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday September 14, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 14, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Sunday September 12, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday September 12, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2

Sandra Day O'Connor: The First - S33 E6

  • Wednesday September 15, 2021 1:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday September 15, 2021 12:00 am CT on KET
  • Monday September 13, 2021 9:00 pm ET on KET
  • Monday September 13, 2021 8:00 pm CT on KET

Chasing the Moon: Part Two: Earthrise - S31 E4

  • Thursday September 9, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday September 9, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday September 8, 2021 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday September 8, 2021 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday September 7, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday September 7, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Sunday September 5, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday September 5, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2

Chasing the Moon: Part One: A Place Beyond the Sky - S31 E3

  • Thursday September 2, 2021 4:00 am ET on KET
  • Thursday September 2, 2021 3:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday September 2, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday September 2, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Tuesday August 31, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday August 31, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Sunday August 29, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday August 29, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2
Top

Season 27 Episodes

The Big Burn

S27 E4 Length 52:12 Premiere Date 2.3.15

The Big Burn Preview

Preview Length 00:30 Premiere Date 2.3.15

The Big Burn, Chapter 1

Clip Length 07:59 Premiere Date 2.3.15

Gifford Pinchot's Vision

Clip Length 02:35 Premiere Date 2.3.15

America's Timber

Clip Length 02:58 Premiere Date 2.3.15

Fire as the Enemy

Clip Length 02:54 Premiere Date 2.3.15

"Hire Everybody You Can Find"

Clip Length 01:45 Premiere Date 2.3.15

The Heroes of the Big Burn

Clip Length 02:19 Premiere Date 2.3.15

The 1930s Series Preview

Preview Length 01:02 Premiere Date 8.20.09

Author Interview: Neil Maher

Clip Length 07:00 Premiere Date 9.24.09

Interview Dr. Alfred Crosby

Clip Length 06:07 Premiere Date 12.21.09

Interview Dr. Shirley Fannin

Clip Length 09:22 Premiere Date 12.21.09

Government Film: Combat America

Clip Length 08:21 Premiere Date 1.12.10

Government Film: Memphis Belle

Clip Length 10:06 Premiere Date 1.12.10

Specials

FDR's Pearl Harbor Speech

Length 01:10 Premiere Date 12.6.16

Olympian Profile: Andrew Campbell

Length 03:06 Premiere Date 8.2.16

Olympian Profile: Katelin Snyder

Length 02:53 Premiere Date 8.2.16

Radio Coverage of the 1936 Olympics

Length 05:28 Premiere Date 8.2.16

Olympian Profile: Bryan Volpenhein

Length 03:25 Premiere Date 7.18.16

Olympian Profile: Caryn Davies

Length 03:23 Premiere Date 7.11.16

Grand Central: Crisis Leads to Opportunity

Length 02:19 Premiere Date 2.4.08

Grand Central: Breaking Ground

Length 01:51 Premiere Date 2.4.08

The Design of Grand Central

Length 01:07 Premiere Date 2.4.08

Explore KET