Skip to Main Content

At Leisure's Edge: A Journey Through Kentucky's Historic Black Parks

Program Details

At Leisure's Edge: A Journey Through Kentucky's Historic Black Parks

About At Leisure's Edge: A Journey Through Kentucky's Historic Black Parks

From 1942 to 1956, Kentucky city park systems were segregated by state mandate. This program takes a look at seven historically black parks and explores how the African-American communities in those cities used the public spaces of parks to construct uplifting community identities despite segregation. Since these parks were managed by black residents within the city governments, events held in them often fused political activism with cultural expression-making the parks, like schools and churches, vital centers of community solidarity. Produced by Boyd Shearer with support from the KET Fund for Independent Production.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

At Leisure's Edge: A Journey Through Kentucky's Historic Black Parks

From 1942 to 1956, Kentucky city park systems were segregated by state mandate. This program takes a look at seven historically black parks and explores how the African-American communities in Kentucky used the public spaces of parks to construct uplifting community identities despite segregation. Produced by Boyd Shearer with support from the KET Fund for Independent Production.

  • Tuesday February 4, 2020 7:30 am ET on KETKY
  • Tuesday February 4, 2020 6:30 am CT on KETKY
  • Tuesday February 4, 2020 4:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Tuesday February 4, 2020 3:00 pm CT on KETKY
  • Monday February 10, 2020 8:00 pm ET on KETKY
  • Monday February 10, 2020 7:00 pm CT on KETKY

Recent

No recent airdates

Top

Explore KET