Skip to Main Content

Home

Home

Home

In an age of globalization and deregulation, a cataclysmic strike over money and power brings baseball to the brink. Inning Nine, Home, looks at baseball from the 1970s to the 1990s, including the establishment of the free agent system, the rise in player salaries, the continued expansion, the dilution of talent, the ongoing battles between labor and management and the scandals.
S1 E9 Length 2:25:21 Premiere: 3.13.20

Program Details

Baseball

About Baseball

The story of Baseball is the story of America. It is an epic overflowing with heroes and hopefuls, scoundrels and screwballs. It is a saga spanning the quest for racial justice, the clash of labor and management, the transformation of popular culture, and the unfolding of the national pastime.

TV Schedules

Jump to Recent Airdates

Upcoming

Something Like a War - S1 E2

This episode takes viewers through 1910 and introduces some of the game's most celebrated and colorful characters, including Ty Cobb, Honus Wagner, Christy Mathewson and Walter Johnson.

  • Thursday April 15, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday April 15, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2

The Faith of 50 Million People - S1 E3

Examine the century's second decade, which was dominated by the Black Sox scandal. George Herman "Babe" Ruth makes his first major league appearance and a wave of immigration helps fill the stands with new fans eager to "become American" by learning America's game.

  • Sunday April 18, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday April 18, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday April 20, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday April 20, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Wednesday April 21, 2021 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday April 21, 2021 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday April 22, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday April 22, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2

A National Heirloom - S1 E4

Babe Ruth's phenomenal performance at the plate thrilled the nation throughout the 1920s and rescued the game from the scandal of the previous decade.

  • Sunday April 25, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday April 25, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday April 27, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday April 27, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Wednesday April 28, 2021 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday April 28, 2021 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday April 29, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday April 29, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2

Shadow Ball - S1 E5

Explore baseball during the Great Depression, Babe Ruth's fading career, and the story of the Negro Leagues in the 1930s, excluded from Major League play at that time.

  • Sunday May 2, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 2, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday May 4, 2021 11:30 am ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 4, 2021 10:30 am CT on KET
  • Wednesday May 5, 2021 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday May 5, 2021 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Thursday May 6, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday May 6, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2

The National Pastime - S1 E6

This episode covers the 1940s and includes Joe DiMaggio's celebrated hitting streak, the awe-inspiring performance of Ted Williams, and the debut of Jackie Robinson, who broke the color barrier as a member of the Brooklyn Dodgers in 1947.

  • Sunday May 9, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday May 9, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2
  • Tuesday May 11, 2021 11:29 am ET on KET
  • Tuesday May 11, 2021 10:29 am CT on KET
  • Wednesday May 12, 2021 3:30 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday May 12, 2021 2:30 am CT on KET
  • Thursday May 13, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday May 13, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2
Jump to Upcoming Airdates

Recent

Something Like a War - S1 E2

  • Wednesday April 14, 2021 3:00 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday April 14, 2021 2:00 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday April 13, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday April 13, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Sunday April 11, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday April 11, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2

Our Game - S1 E1

  • Thursday April 8, 2021 2:00 am ET on KET2
  • Thursday April 8, 2021 1:00 am CT on KET2
  • Wednesday April 7, 2021 3:30 am ET on KET
  • Wednesday April 7, 2021 2:30 am CT on KET
  • Tuesday April 6, 2021 12:00 pm ET on KET
  • Tuesday April 6, 2021 11:00 am CT on KET
  • Sunday April 4, 2021 8:00 pm ET on KET2
  • Sunday April 4, 2021 7:00 pm CT on KET2
Top

Season 1 Episodes

Home

S1 E9 Length 2:25:21 Premiere Date 3.13.20

A Whole New Ball Game

S1 E8 Length 1:53:51 Premiere Date 3.13.20

The Capital of Baseball

S1 E7 Length 2:11:17 Premiere Date 3.13.20

The National Pastime

S1 E6 Length 2:28:19 Premiere Date 3.13.20

Shadow Ball

S1 E5 Length 2:03:05 Premiere Date 3.13.20

A National Heirloom

S1 E4 Length 1:54:03 Premiere Date 3.13.20

The Faith of Fifty Million People

S1 E3 Length 1:58:56 Premiere Date 3.13.20

Something Like a War

S1 E2 Length 1:45:18 Premiere Date 3.13.20

Our Game

S1 E1 Length 1:54:53 Premiere Date 3.13.20

Explore KET